El Paso Community Foundation - EPCF
El Paso Community Foundation - EPCF

2022 Bill Mattingly Scholarship Fund recipients announced

The Bill Mattingly Scholarship Fund in the El Paso Community Foundation recently awarded $7,000 in scholarships to two physicians and three optometry students specializing in low vision at universities across the country.

The Bill Mattingly Scholarship Fund is national in scope and is named for El Paso low vision specialist Bill Mattingly, of Mattingly Low Vision, who died in 2015. Low vision eyesight cannot be remedied with eyeglasses, medication, or surgery. Physicians and caregivers who specialize in low vision and diminished eyesight work to improve the independence and self-worth of their patients.

The residents and students awarded will continue to lead in the field and continue the legacy of Bill Mattingly. We congratulate them on their continued success. The 2022 Bill Mattingly Scholarship Fund recipients are:

  • Dr. Lydia Han, OD, of San Antonio TX, a resident specializing in low vision at the University of Incarnate Word’s UIW Rosenberg School of Optometry in San Antonio, TX.

  • Marissa Jimenez, of Arlington, TX, an optometry student at Nova Southeastern University’s College of Optometry in Fort Lauderdale, FL.

  • Dr. Mariah R. Marshall,OD, of Belleville, NJ, and a faculty member of the State University of New York College of Optometry in New York, NY.

  • Vanessa D. Morales, of Fremont, CA, a student at the University of California’s Herbert Wertheim School of Optometry in Berkeley, CA.

  • Araba Otoo, who has a master’s in public health, is a student at the Ohio State University College of Optometry in Columbus, OH.


For more information, Click Here   |   For our complete coverage, Click Here