Aberg leads flag to flag, snags Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic crown

Ludvig Aberg, a native of Eslov, Sweden and an amateur player out of Texas Tech, started the final day of the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Classic in the lead and finished the day by hoisting the Lee Trevino Trophy in the air after marking a three-day total of 13-under-par, 200 on the par 71, 6,889 yard El Paso Country Club Course.

Aberg won the prestigious event by four strokes after posting rounds of 62-66-72. He cupped three birdies and finished 1-over-par to hold on to the lead on Tuesday, November 26, 2019.

“Everyone here [in El Paso] was great and it definitely helped me stay loose during the tournament,” Aberg said.

Matthias Schmid, a native of Maxhvette, Germany, finished second with a 9-under-par 204 (68-68-68).  Schmid, who plays as an amateur at Louisville made his second appearance in the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic and improved his play in El Paso as he finished fifth in 2018 with a three-round score of 204.

Aberg holed birdies on No. 2 and No. 3 as he held off the rest of the field to become the winner.

Mason Overstreet, who is from Kingfisher, Okla. and plays amateurly for Arkansas, finished in a tie for third with Zan Luka Stirn, an amateur who plays for Arkansas State.  They both finished at 8-under-par 205.

In his third and final appearance in the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, Overstreet had rounds of 67-69-69, while Luka Stirn tallied rounds of 69-63-73.

UTEP’s own Oskar Ambrosius, a native of Viborg, Denmark, finished in a tie for 19th with four other players with a 1-under-par 212. He fired off rounds of 67-72-73.  Ambrosius is the first UTEP golfer since Chris Baryla in 2003 to compete in the annual tournament.

Officials add that this was the largest field in the 45 years of this tournament’s history.

Finish                    Player                                                   School                                                  Scores                                 

1                              Ludvig Aberg                                      Texas Tech                                          62-66-72—200(-13)

2                              Matthias Schmid                              Louisville                                              68-68-68—204(-9)

T3                           Mason Overstreet                           Arkansas                                              67-69-69—205(-8)

T3                           Zan Luka Stirn                                    Arkansas State                                  69-63-73—205(-8)

T5                           Trent Phillips                                      Georgia                                                70-69-67—206(-7)

T5                           Garett Reband                                  Oklahoma                                           67-68-71—206(-7)

T7                           RJ Manke                                            Pepperdine                                        73-65-69—207(-6)

T7                           Philip Barbaree                                 LSU                                                        68-68-71—207(-6)

T9                           Benjamin Shipp                                 NC State                                              69-70-69—208(-5)

T9                           Jack Trent                                            UNLV                                                    72-68-68—208(-5)

T9                           William Moll                                       Vanderbilt                                           67-71-70—208(-5)

T12                         Adrien Dumont de Chassart         Illinois                                                   69-70-70—209(-4)

T12                         Trevor Werbylo                                 Arizona                                                 71-66-72—209(-4)

14                           Rhett Rasmussen                             BYU                                                        69-71-70—210(-3)

T15                         Logan McAllister                               Oklahoma                                           70-70-71—211(-2)

T15                         Parker Coody                                     Texas                                                    72-69-70—211(-2)

T15                         John Murphy                                     Louisville                                              72-67-72—211(-2)

T15                         Tripp Kinney                                       Iowa State                                           71-72-68—211(-2)

T19                         Garrett Barber                                   LSU                                                        68-71-73—212(-1)

T19                         Oskar Ambrosius                              UTEP                                                     67-72-73—212(-1)

T19                         Patrick Welch                                     Oklahoma                                           71-68-73—212(-1)

T19                         Peng Pichaikool                                 Mississippi State                               73-68-71—212(-1)

T19                         Maximilian Steinlechner               NC State                                              73-69-70—212(-1)

T24                         Joshua McCarthy                              Pepperdine                                        72-70-71—213(E)

T24                         Quade Cummins                               Oklahoma                                           71-71-71—213(E)

T26                         Peter Kuest                                        BYU                                                        70-70-74—214(+1)

T26                         Hunter Eichhorn                               Marquette                                          70-69-75—214(+1)

T26                         Kyle Cottam                                        Clemson                                              71-67-76—214(+1)

T26                         Jamie Li                                                 Florida State                                       72-70-72—214(+1)

T26                         Julian Perico                                       Arkansas                                              69-75-70—214(+1)

T31                         Michael Feagles                                Illinois                                                   73-68-76—217(+4)

T31                         Jerry Ji                                                   Illinois                                                   72-72-73—217(+4)

33                           Jimmy Lee                                           Texas A&M                                         74-70-76—220(+7)

–                              Albin Bergstrom                               USF                                                        71-74-D— – (-)


The Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic is one of the premier amateur golf tournaments in the country. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1974.

Jordan Spieth, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Davis Love III, Justin Thomas, Notah Begay and Jerry Pate are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers. College All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 53 major championships and have earned over $2 billion in career earnings.