• December 1, 2021
 American Association of Community Colleges honors EPCC for Student Success

American Association of Community Colleges honors EPCC for Student Success

CHICAGO, IL April 12, 2016— The American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) announced the winners for its 2016 Awards of Excellence, which recognizes exceptional work among the nation’s two-year colleges. El Paso Community College (EPCC) was named the winner of the Student Success Award.

The AACC Student Success Award recognizes a community college that has demonstrated, through evidence, a sustained commitment to and proactively advances the cause of student success at a community college.

“El Paso Community College (EPCC) is honored to be selected as the 2016 American Association of Community Colleges Student Success Award winner,” Dr. William Serrata, EPCC President said. ““This is a tribute to EPCC’s long history of commitment to student success and it is a testament to; the collective efforts of the Board of Trustees who set the College’s vision, our dedicated faculty, staff and administration and the students we are privileged to serve.”

Criteria used to competitively evaluate applications included that the college:

• Has developed a comprehensive, bold and strategic completion plan.

• Has achieved measurable and significant increases in:

◦ On-time degree completion

◦ Certificate completion

◦ Transfer from 2-year to 4-year institution(s)

• Has developed innovative programs that support student success in areas such as developmental

education, student support services, K-12 partnerships/collaboration.

• Has substantially contributed to the integration of completion goals and principles across the institution.

• Has scalable promising practices to advance student success.

“EPCC uses innovative strategies to ensure students in our community complete their degrees so they can reach their academic and professional goals,” Art Fierro, Board Chair said. “The Board of Trustees is committed to driving and supporting student success.”

The Student Success Award was chosen through a competitive selection process and presented to President Serrata along with members of the Board of Trustees attending AACC’s Annual Convention and meeting in Chicago, Illinois.

AACC is the primary advocacy organization for the nation’s community colleges representing nearly 1,200 two-year, associate degree granting institutions and more than 13 million students. The AACC annual meeting is among the largest and most dynamic gatherings of educational leaders.

“The Board is proud of our President and our Community College,” Selena Solis, EPCC Board of Trustees Secretary said.  “This national recognition serves as a reinforcement to El Paso our work as one of the Aspen Institute’s Top 10 Community Colleges and exemplifies that EPCC is a worthy investment.”

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications