Bishop Seitz sets phased protocol for Diocese Opening: El Paso County to Remain ‘Suspended Status,’ West Texas Counties possible to open in Phase 4

Friday morning, Bishop Mark Seitz of the Catholic Diocese of El Paso released a series of Phased protocols for the reopening of Churches in the Diocese of El Paso.

Currently Bishop Seitz has deemed that the Churches in El Paso County are to remain in a suspended status.

Due to the number of very limited cases in parishes in West Texas – Brewster, Culberson, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Loving, Presidio, Reeves, Ward and Winkler Counties – Bishop Seitz has given permission to Pastors of parishes to open in Phase 4 as the Pastor of the parish deems prudently fit beginning May 9, 2020.

Below is Bishop Seitz’s plan as released on Friday.

[pdf-embedder url=”” title=”Memorandum on Church Gatherings during COVID-19″]