• January 28, 2022
 Bohuslav Rattay, Zuill Bailey team up for 15th Annual Collaboration

Bohuslav Rattay (lf) and Zuill Bailey (rt)

Bohuslav Rattay, Zuill Bailey team up for 15th Annual Collaboration

The El Paso Symphony Orchestra (EPSO) led by conductor Bohuslav Rattay will ring in the New Year with Grammy award-winning cellist Zuill Bailey.

Bailey, sponsored by Mrs. Robert M. Graham, Sr., and EPSO will take the Plaza Theatre stage on January 17 and 18, 2020, 7:30pm.

These concerts celebrate the 15th annual collaboration between the El Paso Symphony Orchestra and El Paso Pro-Musica, whose joint mission is to present world-renowned artists to perform on multiple stages throughout El Paso, reaching a broader audience.

The concerts first half feature two of the pinnacles of the romantic classical repertoire: Saint-Saëns’s Cello Concerto No. 1 and Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations.

The concerts open with Bailey and EPSO performing Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto which is one of the best-loved of 19th-century concertos.  Next is Tchaikovsky’s Rococo Variations, which he wrote while going through a severe depression.  Learning to escape depression through his work, Tchaikovsky wrote the Rococo Variations for Cello and Orchestra, one of his most nostalgic affirmations of love to what he perceived as the virtuousness of the eighteenth century.

The second half of the performances highlight the orchestra in Dvořák Symphony No. 7, op. 70 in D minor.  Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony was commissioned by the Royal Philharmonic Society in 1883 and is a departure from the composer’s usual musical style, which is known for its brightness and folk theme-filled melodies.

While still containing some Slavic elements, the Seventh Symphony is a little less bright and contains less folk material than his earlier works, with prevalent tragic and dark themes.

Fans can also join EPSO and Dr. James Welsch, EPSO Assistant Conductor, prior to each performance at Opening Notes, 6:30pm in the Philanthropy Theatre, to get insights on the program, composers and artist.

Friday, January 17, 2020 at 7:30pm

Saturday, January 18, 2020 at 7:30pm

Saint-Saëns Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1, op. 33 in A minor

Tchaikovsky Variations on a Rococo Theme, op. 33

Dvořák Symphony No. 7, op. 70 in D minor

The Plaza Theatre | 125 W Mills Ave | Tickets ($16 – $46) and more information: www.epso.org

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post