Burges Yearbook Nominated for National Award

The 2015 Hoofbeats – Burges High School’s award winning yearbook – has once again earned a slot among the finalists for the prestigious, nationally recognized Pacemaker Award.

Burges has won five Pacemaker awards in eight nominations in the past 23 years.

“It is a huge honor, and it’s nice to see the staff being honored for their commitment to excellence and dedication to their school,” advisor Pat Monroe said. “The students work so hard, putting in endless hours to create a beautiful publication.”

The National Scholastic Press Association recently announced the 2015 finalists in the Yearbook Pacemaker competition. The
Hoofbeats and other finalists were selected for their clean designs, strong photography and comprehensive coverage of local and national trends. The finalists also had clever and solid themes that developed both visually and verbally throughout their books.

“They understand the importance of a yearbook and what it means to the students,” Monroe said of her staff. “They don’t get the credit they deserve, so it’s nice that they are recognized on the national level for their work. I am so proud of them.”

The award itself is known as the Pulitzer Prize of high school journalism, the highest award a high school publication can receive.

“For the journalism department, it is incredible,” editor Jordan Steyer said. “We put so many hours to create the book, and it’s great that it is recognized on a national level.”

The staff beamed with pride when the announcement was made.

“They knew that all of the time and the work would pay off, and that was how,” Steyer said. “They also liked the recognition that it brought our program. We all spend so much time working on it, and it really is great to get this nomination.”

A team of judges comprised of experienced journalism professionals and educators chose finalists from five categories. From the 367 total entries, 89 were selected as finalists.

Pacemaker winners will be announced at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, April 14-17, 2016 in Los Angeles, CA.