• January 18, 2022
 Catching Up with Cross Country: Franklin, Eastwood Win at Canutillo Invitational

Catching Up with Cross Country: Franklin, Eastwood Win at Canutillo Invitational

The second week of the 2018 high school cross country season was highlighted by Franklin High School’s girls team which continues to gain confidence with each race.

The Cougars won their second team championship Saturday morning, taking the title at the Canutillo ISD Invitational.

Franklin’s top five finished 1-2-18-21 and 27 for 55 points and Eastwood’s five finished 4-5-6-22 and 30 for 57 points. Eastlake was third with 73 points, followed by Americas (99) and Montwood (136).

Sophomore Eva Jess was the overall winner crossing the finish line in 18:49.08 followed by Franklin teammate Amalia Dorion (19:29.21), Eastlake senior Aeriel Garcia (19:35.60) and a trio of Eastwood runners – Lauren Walls (19:42.68; 5), Eileen McLain, (19:56.7) and Meadow Ortiz (20:09.16) finished 4-5-6.

On the boys side, Eastwood, a bronze medalist at last year’s Class 6A UIL State Cross Country Championship,  began its quest for another state medal, this time at the Class 5A level,  with a dominating 3-4-6-7-9 performance scoring 24 points. Americas was second with 75 followed by Franklin (140), Eastlake (142) and Chapin (145). The Troopers one through five runners had an impressive 9 second gap.

Cathedral senior Brandon Seagreaves, two-time defending TAPPS, Division 6A state champion, won the individual title in a time of 16:03.85.

Hanks Junior Roger Rivera, who won last week’s Run to Midnight, was second in 16:06.66, followed by Eastwood’s Elias Perez (16:10.08) and Sergio Leon Cuartas (16:13.02) and Coronado’s Nick Gonzalez (16:14.30).


For all the individual stories, stats, photos and more – visit El Paso Running

Guest Columnist

Guest Columnists are residents who feel so strongly about a news event, a story or some other issue, that they decided to put their thoughts to paper - or computer screens. Or they are writers who have made their work available via other channels and we feature their work here, with permission. If you'd like to submit a column, please contact us at news@epheraldpost.com

Related post