• May 21, 2022
 Diocese Honors Catholic Schools Teachers, Support Staff During Annual Dinner

Diocese Honors Catholic Schools Teachers, Support Staff During Annual Dinner

The Diocese of El Paso Catholic Schools held their SEED Awards Banquet on Thursday night. The annual banquet honors the achievement of the teachers in the area’s Catholic schools.

Each school’s Teacher of the Year is recognized and a Diocesan Teacher of the Year is chosen from among them. The SEED Awards also recognizes the contributions made to Catholic education by school’s support staff, volunteers, alumni, and benefactors.

This year’s Master of Ceremonies was The Bridge’s (1150am) On Air Personality and Radio Program Director, Joe Garcia. Guest speakers included Interim Superintendent Steve Sanchez and Majors Gifts Officer from the Foundation for the Diocese of El Paso Sofia Larkin.

While attending the event I was able to catch up with Sister Maria of Fr. Yermo Schools and Fr. Frank Lopez, the rector of St. Matthews. 

The dinner was an elaborate affair. The tables absolutely gorgeous. At the SEED awards, everyone was a star.

This year’s winners include:

Support Staff Awards:

Juan Carlos Perez, Margarita Ponon, Adriana Chavarria, Lauren Rodriguez, Rosa Simental, Angelica Botello, Brenda Burrola, Laura Truhill, Ruben Dominguez, Terry Yanez.

Volunteer Awards:

David Carrejo, Ph.D., Ana Jimenez, Scott and Liz Espinoza, Yvonne Salazar, Marisela Scott, Michelle Shuman, Martha Nevarez, Sister Mary Ljumgdahl and Delia Vega.

Benefactor Awards:

Ed and Yvonne Davis, Dr. Teresa Cortez, The Mary L. Peyton Foundation, Wanda Michaud, Javier Villava, Pamela Duarte, Mr. and Mrs. Gary Porras, Alex Aguirre, Dr. and Mrs. Miguel Velasquez, Pablo Ornelas.

Alumni Awards:

Mario Vasquez, Jeausita De La Cruz, The Honorable Judge Kathleen Olivares, Gerardo Sanchez, Larry Villalobos, Mike Dipp, Eeica Puertas, Desirae Gallegos.

The Teacher of the Year for each school:

Cathedral High School: Marco Ortigoza

Father Yermo Elementary: Yvonne Pina

Father Yermo High School: Dr. Carolyn Marie Leforreta

Loretto Elementary School: Cecilia Diaz

Loretto Middle and High School: Nicole Cobb

Most Holy Trinity: Esperanza Renovation

Our Lady of the Valley School: Michael Garcia

St. Joseph School: Teresa Perez

St. Matthew Catholic School: Amanda Murillo

St. Patrick Cathedral School: Julian Salcido

St. Pius X School: Patricia Martinez

Overall Teacher of the Year: Patricia Martinez

Each of these recipients works hard to preserve Catholic education in El Paso. With schools closing, like Our Lady of Assumption and Our Lady of the Valley who will be closing, it seems almost a losing battle.

The Catholic Diocese of El Paso is working to maintain the schools and their current and future enrollment. Maybe you can help? If you would like to help support Catholic education in El Paso, donate to your Parish school, of they have one.

Of not, contact any Catholic school and see what they need. You just may make a difference in someone’s future.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post