• December 4, 2021
 Communication Groups Honor UTEP’s Sowards

Communication Groups Honor UTEP’s Sowards

The Latina/o Communication Studies Division and La Raza Caucus recently named UTEP’s Stacey Sowards, Ph.D., as the 2017 Córdova-Puchot Scholar of the Year Award recipient.

The honor recognizes excellence in the areas of teaching, research, service and advocacy.

“I’m deeply honored to receive this award in recognition of my work in the area of Latinx and communication studies,” said Sowards, chair and professor of communication at The University of Texas at El Paso.

Latinx is the gender-neutral alternative to Latino or Latina used by academics and activists.

“Receiving this award also reflects UTEP’s values in promoting scholarship on Latinx identities and border studies.”

The former Fulbright Scholar, who started teaching at UTEP in 2004, is the third member of UTEP’s communication department faculty to earn this award.

Previous recipients were Roberto Avant-Mier, Ph.D., associate professor of communication, and Richard D. Pineda, Ph.D., associate professor of communication and director of the Sam Donaldson Center for Communication Studies.

Sowards accepted her award Nov. 18, 2017, during the National Communication Association conference in Dallas, Texas.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications