Coronado High School’s Taekyu Lee and Jai J. Patel, and Franklin High School’s Jack Himes | Photos courtesy EPISD

Coronado, Franklin students named National Merit Scholars

Three EPISD students this week were named National Merit Scholars and join an elite group of seniors identified as outstanding students by one of the most prestigious scholarship programs in the country.

Coronado High School’s Taekyu Lee and Jai J. Patel, as well as Franklin High School’s Jack Himes received the honor from the National Merit Scholarship Corp. and join Sri Lakshmi Muthyala, also from Coronado, as EPISD’s four National Merit Scholars for 2021. Muthyala’s honor had been announced last month.

Lee, Patel and Himes were among the 3,100 recipients announced this week for annual scholarships worth between $500 and $2,000 for up to four years financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

An additional group of Scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2021 competition to about 4,000.

Lee will attend Emory University in Georgia this fall to study chemistry. Patel will attend the honors program at Texas A&M University also to study chemistry. Himes will attend Texas Tech University with a double major in electrical and computer engineering.

Muthyala was among the $2,500 scholarship winners chosen from 16,000 finalists in the first round of announcements. Muthyala will attend Texas A&M this fall.

Story by Reneé de Santos