Picture left to right: Dr. William Serrata, PTK & EPCC Alumni Virginia “Frenchie” Bisiaux, PTK President Rachel Williams, Alex Martinez and PTK Faculty Advisor Adriana Pérez

Dr. William Serrata Receives Prestigious Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Award of Distinction

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) recognized El Paso Community College (EPCC) President, Dr. William Serrata with the Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction during PTK Catalyst 2019, the Society’s annual convention.

EPCC Phi Theta Kappa students nominated the president for this distinction.

“It is an honor to be recognized for supporting student success, it is even more meaningful to be nominated by students,” Dr. William Serrata, EPCC President, said.  “Ensuring students have the support to enter college, graduate and achieve their dreams is our focus at El Paso Community College.”

This recognition is given to college presidents who have shown strong support of student success on their campus by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their colleges.

Students nominate recipients and presidents are only eligible to receive the award once over the course of their career.

“He’s so inspirational, everything he does, he’s always leading by example and he’s always very supportive,” EPCC student and Phi Theta Kappa President Rachel Williams said.

Named in honor of the late Dr. Shirley B. Gordon, Phi Theta Kappa’s longest-serving Board of Directors Chair and a founder and long-time president of Highline Community College in Washington, The Shirley B. Gordon Award is Phi Theta Kappa’s most prestigious award for community college presidents.

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders.

More than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 10 nations make up the Society; to learn more, visit ptk.org.