El Paso Community Foundation’s Classroom Fund announces 2021 recipients

The El Paso Community Foundation’s The Classroom Fund is granting $50,000 to 59 area educators for the coming school year. Projects funded range from basic classroom supplies to materials for music, special needs, and technology.

“The average teacher spends several hundred dollars of their own money each year to buy items for their students,” said Stephanie Otero, EPCF Vice President of Operations.

“The Classroom Fund was created to relieve that financial burden while ensuring teachers have the opportunity to work with new and innovative learning materials. We are excited to be able to offer these grants in support of education in our community.”

A record 337 applications were received.

The grants are used for classroom materials. The El Paso Community Foundation purchases the requested materials for the educators, who are from the El Paso and Las Cruces area.

Applicants for the Classroom Fund must be full-time, pre-K through 12th grade educators, and the requested materials must be used in the classroom by students.

The 59 grants were awarded to educators in the Anthony, Canutillo, Clint, El Paso, Fabens, Ft. Hancock, Gadsden, Las Cruces, San Elizario, Socorro, Tornillo, and Ysleta school districts, and IDEA Public Schools.

Grantees will receive their requested materials during a celebratory reception later this year.

Eduardo Acosta
Jefferson High

Rebecca Adams
Kohlberg Elementary

Sandra Armendariz
Guillen Middle

Lana Arreola
Stanton Elementary School

Mayra Barbosa
Anthony Elementary

olga elbancol
Chester Jordan Elementary

Kevin Elizalde
Alfonso Borrego, Sr. Elementary

Sergio Estrada
Riverside High

Kinuko Falvo
Coronado High

Michael Ford
Tornillo Junior High

Caroleen Franklin
Benito Martinez

Yolanda Gallo
Hueco Elementary

Jacob Galvan
Bowie High

Theresa Garay
Ann Garcia-Enriquez Middle

Karina Garcia
Kohlberg Elementary

Nora Garcia
Lorenzo Alarcon Elementary

Thomas Geiss
Raymond Telles Academy / Lafarelle

Erika Gomez
Loretto Academy

Johanna Gonzalez-Frias
Lorenzo Alarcon Elementary

Blanca Guerrero
Lorenzo Alarcon Elementary

Leeza Gutierrez
IDEA Rio Vista

Mark Gutierrez
Lamar Elementary

Christine Hernandez
Canutillo High

Raymond Hernandez
O’Donnell Elementary

Edna Herrera
Berino Elementary

Claudia Holguin
Frank Macias Elementary

Leslie Horvath
Crockett Elementary

Zenia Ihorn
Mesita Elementary

Issis Inzunza
Vista Del Futuro

Pamela Janecki
Ysleta High

Nicah Johnson
Central Elementary

Ana Lepe
Bliss Elementary

Rosa Loya
Irvin High

Chelsea Lucas
Lynn Middle

Rebecca Manriquez
Center for Career and Technology Education

Magdalena Martinez
Montwood Middle

Sarah Mayne
Guerrero Elementary

Lynn Middle

Lorena Mendoza
Alfonso Borrego, Sr. Elementary

Krystal Mijares
Alfonso Borrego, Sr. Elementary

Priscilla/Mary Moreno/Acosta
Andress High

Stacy Myers
Chester Jordan Elementary

Souaad Nunez
Bill Childress Elementary

Heather O’Dell
Franklin High

Lizbeth Ortega
Vista Del Sol Elementary

Laura Pacheco
Young Women’s Academy

Cristina Perez
Western Hills Elementary

Maribel Pinela
Lincoln Middle

Juli Porflit
Park Elementary

Ruth Ramirez
Alfonso Borrego, Sr. Elementary

Juanita Ribhail
Vista Del Futuro

Filomena Rigales
Vista Del Futuro

Myriam Sanchez
Ann Garcia-Enriquez Middle

Ruby Shivery
Newman Elementary

Amy Smith
Young Women’s Leadership Academy

Michelle Soriano
Wiggs Middle

Bernadette Valenzuela
Western Hills Elementary

Ernesto Villanueva
Canutillo High

Taj Woods
Burnet Elementary

For more information visit the Classroom Fund website. The Classroom Fund is a special project of the El Paso Community Foundation.