• May 25, 2022
 El Paso County Commissioner Davis Stout Elected Texas Border Coalition Chairman-Elect

El Paso County Commissioner Davis Stout Elected Texas Border Coalition Chairman-Elect

El Paso County Commissioner Davis Stout Elected Texas Border Coalition Chairman-Elect

The Texas Border Coalition (TBC) is pleased to announce that it has elected El Paso County Commissioner David Stout as its new chairman-elect. Commissioner Stout will serve a two-year term effective October 2022.

He will succeed Cameron County Judge Eddie Treviño, Jr., who has served as chairman since October 2017, and will continue to represent the coalition on the executive committee as immediate past chairman.

“I’m honored to have the support of my colleagues as chairman-elect of the Texas Border Coalition, an organization with a 24-year track record of shaping and helping to implement policies that benefit the Texas border region,” Stout said. “I look forward to working with coalition members at this critical time to address the myriad economic development, healthcare, immigration and border security, transportation, and education and workforce challenges that impact our region of the state, and help our communities grow and prosper economically.”

Since 1998, TBC has been the collective voice of border communities on issues affecting Texas-Mexico border region. TBC members are committed to working to develop innovative policies and legislation at the national, state, and local levels.

“I want to congratulate Commissioner Stout on his election as TBC chairman-elect,” Treviño said. “I look forward to working closely with him as we help guide our coalition and continue to fight for policies that will improve the lives of the people who live, work and raise families in Texas border communities.”

In addition to Commissioner Stout and Judge Treviño, TBC’s executive committee is comprised of C. LeRoy Cavazos-Reyna of the U.S. Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; Henry Sauvignet of IBC Bank; Brewster County Judge Eleazar Cano; Del Rio Mayor Ralph Lozano; Donna Mayor Rick Morales; Hidalgo Mayor Sergio Coronado; McAllen Mayor Javier Villalobos; Mission Mayor Armando O’Caña; Daniel Silva of the Mission Economic Development Corp.; Pharr Mayor Amos Hernandez; Luis of Bazan, director of the Pharr-Reynosa International Bridge; Port Isabel Mayor J.J. Zamora; Presidio Mayor John Ferguson; Presidio County Judge Cinderela Guevara; South Padre Island Mayor Patrick McNulty; J.D. Salinas of AT&T; Sergio Contreras, president of the Rio Grande Valley Partnership; Ben Petty, Sr., of Tax Free Shopping; Weslaco Mayor David Suarez; Willacy County Judge Aurelio Guerra; and Zapata County Judge Joe Rathmell.

The chairmen of TBC’s various policy committees are Carolyn Petty, economic development; Dr. Hector F. Gonzalez, healthcare; Monica Weisberg-Stewart, immigration and border security; Cynthia Garza Reyes, transportation; and Michael E. Gonzalez, education and workforce development.


For more information, Click Here   |   For our complete coverage, Click Here

Related post