• December 4, 2021
 El Paso ISD Schools Advancing to area One-Act Play Competition

El Paso ISD Schools Advancing to area One-Act Play Competition

The last two weeks has been nonstop for EPISD theatre students, competing and earning accolades at the UIL District and Bi-District 1-5A and 1-6A One-Act Play competitions.

Now three high schools will represent the District at the Area One-Act Play competition in Snyder, Texas on April 9.

Austin, Burges and El Paso high schools are advancing for their plays “These Shining Lives,” “Anna in the Tropics” and “Rabbit Hole,” respectively.

“I congratulate and commend all of our 10 high schools and their theatre companies for the marvelous presentations, and sincerely thank the directors for their hard work in instructing, encouraging, and developing our theatre students’ talents,” said Gail Manago, EPISD fine arts facilitator.

Students also earned best actor/actress categories and ensemble honors at both 5A and 6A levels.

In the 5A level, Burges student Salvador Mendoza earned best actor and Austin student Elsa Guerecas earned best actress. Burges’ Luis Garcia took best actor and fellow Mustang Hannah Perches received best actress in the 6A competition.

The following students were also recognized for their outstanding performances:

5A UIL District One-Act Play
Alternate Play: “Ordinary People” Chapin

All-Star Cast: Briana Ibarra Austin
Herman Garcia El Paso
Luis Garcia Burges
Alexandra Koplos El Paso
Hannah Perches Burges
Shane Rilat II Chapin
Fernanda Antoine Irvin

Honorable Mention All-Star Cast:
Emerit Olague Andress
Alejandrea Mendoza Austin
Jasmine Duran Bowie
Anthony Guardado Chapin
Madeline Poche Chapin
Alexandria Cisneros Irvin
Alessandra Williams Jefferson/Silva

6A UIL District One-Act Play
Alternate Play: “Trip to Bountiful” Franklin

All-Star Cast: Derek Brown Coronado
Allison Bristol Franklin
Eric Maese Franklin

Honorable Mention All-Star Cast:
Alvaro Callejas Vazquez Coronado
Samantha McGee Franklin

5A UIL Bi-District One-Act Play
All-Star Cast: Dennis Slaton Austin
Samuel Apodaca Burges
Herman Garcia El Paso
Samantha Koplos El Paso

Honorable Mention All-Star Cast:
Brianna Ibarra Austin
Elsa Guereca Austin
Salvador Mendoza Burges
Briana Mier Burges
Alexandra Koplos El Paso

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications