Photo by Andres Acosta | El Paso Herald Post

El Paso Locomotive FC rolls out 2021 Regular Season League Alignment

Officials with El Paso Locomotive FC, alongside USL Championship, announced its alignment in the 2021 Regular Season Tuesday afternoon.

Locomotive joins the USL West Mountain Division alongside Copa Tejas rivals San Antonio FC, Rio Grande Valley FC, and Austin Bold FC, as well as New Mexico United, Real Monarchs, and Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC.

Divided into four divisions aligned across the country as Atlantic, Central, Mountain, and Pacific, the 2021 USL Championship season will feature a 32-game regular season that will be conducted over 27 weeks. Each club will play its division opponents four times – twice home, twice away – with the remaining games being played against regional or cross-conference opponents.

The Copa Tejas rivalry returns for the first time since 2019 as Locomotive is set to play regularly against all three USL Championship Texas teams for supremacy over the Lone Star StateMeanwhile, the intense local rivalry with New Mexico United returns after the historic Western Conference Semifinal clash in 2020.

El Paso will also see the return of 2020 Group C rivals, Real Monarchs, and Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC to round out the Mountain Division. The opponents for the remaining eight Locomotive matches will be announced in the coming weeks.

As previously announced, the Championship’s regular season will begin on or about May 1st while employing a flexible start date that allows clubs to begin play anywhere between April 24th and May 15th.

Officials added that competition-related announcements on home openers for the 2021 USL Championship season, the 2021 ESPN national broadcast schedule, and the full 2021 regular season schedule would follow soon

Fans board with El Paso Locomotive when it returns to action for this third season in the USL Championship! Lock in your Season Ticket Membership by going online or by calling/texting 915-235-GOAL to enjoy world-class Championship soccer at Southwest University Park.

The divisional alignments for all 31 USL Championship Teams are listed below:

2021 USL Championship Conference Alignment

Eastern Conference

Atlantic Division
Charleston Battery
Charlotte Independence
Hartford Athletic
Loudoun United FC
Miami FC
New York Red Bulls II
Pittsburgh Riverhounds SC
Tampa Bay Rowdies

Central Division
Atlanta United 2
Birmingham Legion FC
FC Tulsa
Indy Eleven
Louisville City FC
Memphis 901 FC
OKC Energy FC
Sporting Kansas City II

Western Conference

Mountain Division
Austin Bold FC
Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC
El Paso Locomotive FC
New Mexico United
Real Monarchs SLC
Rio Grande Valley FC
San Antonio FC

Pacific Division
LA Galaxy II
Las Vegas Lights FC
Oakland Roots SC
Orange County SC
Phoenix Rising FC
Sacramento Republic FC
San Diego Loyal SC
Tacoma Defiance