• January 27, 2022
 El Paso Locomotive Lifts First Ever Copa Tejas Shield


El Paso Locomotive Lifts First Ever Copa Tejas Shield

El Paso Locomotive FC was awarded the 2021 Copa Tejas Shield, receiving the fan-sponsored trophy earlier this week.

El Paso Locomotive is the first Texas team to win the title, beating out three other clubs in the USL Championship, three clubs in Major League Soccer, and one in the National Women’s Soccer League. Unique in design, the Copa Tejas Shield takes the shape of a cowboy hat as an iconic symbol for the Lone Star state.

Created in 2021, The Copa Tejas Shield celebrates the top team in Texas and is awarded to the club with the best Points per Game (PPG) record in the 2021 regular season. Eight teams compete for the trophy including El Paso Locomotive FC, Austin Bold FC, San Antonio FC, and Rio Grande Valley FC from the USL Championship as well as Austin FC, Houston Dynamo, and FC Dallas of MLS, and Houston Dash of NWSL.

El Paso Locomotive FC finished as the top club in Texas with 2.00 PPG record, having earned 64 points after 32 games. San Antonio FC finished as the runner up with 1.62 PPG, having earned 52 points after 32 games. Houston Dash (1.33 PPG) finished fourth on the table behind Rio Grande Valley FC (1.46 PPG), while FC Dallas (0.97 PPG) finished sixth as the highest club from MLS, leading Austin FC (0.91 PPG) and Houston Dynamo (0.88 PPG) while trailing fifth place Austin Bold FC (1.31 PPG) from the USL Championship.

El Paso Locomotive FC will kick off its Copa Tejas Shield defense as it competes in its fourth USL Championship starting in Spring 2022. Lock in your seats for the entire season by visiting eplocomotivefc.com/seasontickets or by calling/texting 915-235-GOAL and continue to enjoy world-class Championship soccer at Southwest University Park.

For more information, Click Here

Related post