Locomotive vs Hartford

El Paso Locomotive vs Hartford Athletic ends in 1-1 Draw

 El Paso Locomotive (6-6-3, 21 points, West-6) moved to six-games undefeated at Southwest University Park with a 1-1 draw against Hartford Athletic on Saturday night. Locomotive Academy Midfielder Diego Abarca became the youngest player to score in Locomotive history with his first professional goal in the 54th minute.


“We have a lot of players tonight. I’m not going to hide that fact but we still put a team out that I thought would win this game,” commented Locomotive Head Coach and Technical Director John Hutchinson. “The silver lining is the football they played and the way they went about it. The way they didn’t stop for 90 minutes and fought to win a game. I thought from the first minute to the end they were playing for the win.”

El Paso were on full display from the opening whistle, limiting Hartford Athletic by keeping possession. The Locos made sure their possession wasn’t wasted either, registering 12 shots in the first half alone to test the Athletic defense. Defender Matt Bahner, Forward Aaron Gomez, and Midfielder Nick Hinds each nearly found the back of the net, forcing the Hartford goalkeeper into big saves. While El Paso was the more stellar team in the first half, it would be a stalemate after 45 minutes.

The match opened up in the second half, as Abarca broke the deadlock in the 56th minute. His left footed shot curled into the top corner of the net for a picture perfect first professional goal. Abarca nearly found a second minutes later, taking another left-footed shot that was barely saved by the Athletic ‘keeper. While Locomotive stayed defenisively stout, with Goalkeeper Evan Newton making an incredible save 1-v-1 with Corey Hertzog, the lead was not meant to last. Peter-Lee Vassell capitalized on a deflected ball in the box to equalize the scoring in the 68th minute to split the points at Southwest University Park.

UP NEXT: El Paso Locomotive hits the road for a match against Phoenix Rising FC at Wild Horse Pass in Arizona. Kickoff is set for 8:30 p.m. MT on Saturday, June 11 and will be broadcast live on ESPN+.


For more information, Click Here   |   For our complete coverage, Click Here