• January 28, 2022
 El Paso’s Sylvia Borunda Firth elected State Bar of Texas president-elect

El Paso’s Sylvia Borunda Firth elected State Bar of Texas president-elect

AUSTIN — Texas attorneys elected Sylvia Borunda Firth of El Paso to be president-elect of the State Bar of Texas.

SBoT officials say that Borunda Firth received 49.31 percent—9,515—of the 19,298 votes cast during the voting period that ended May 29. Her opponent, Pablo Almaguer of Edinburg, received 49.11 percent or 9,478 votes.

Write-in candidates accounted for 1.58 percent of the votes cast.

Borunda Firth will be sworn in as president-elect during a virtual Board of Directors meeting on June 25 and will serve as president of the State Bar of Texas from June 2021 to June 2022.

She is also a solo practitioner in El Paso. Prior to establishing her own firm, she was an associate of two local firms, general counsel to American Garment Finishers, and served the city of El Paso for nearly 20 years. During her time with the city, she was an assistant city attorney, director of intergovernmental affairs, chief of staff to the mayor, and ultimately the city attorney.

Borunda Firth was on the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors from 2014 to 2018. She is currently vice chair of the State Bar of Texas Local Bar Services Committee and serves on the council of the State Bar of Texas Government Law Section.

Borunda Firth is a multiyear member of the Texas Bar College. She is the immediate past president of the Texas City Attorneys Association and serves on the El Paso Bar Association Board of Directors.

In 2017, she received the President’s Award for exemplary service to the El Paso Bar Association. She is a Texas Bar Foundation life fellow and served on the foundation’s board of trustees. Borunda Firth earned her J.D. from the University of Texas School of Law in 1984.

In other results, the following individuals were elected to the State Bar of Texas Board of Directors:

Benny Agosto, Jr., Houston, District 4, Place 2; Lucy Forbes, Houston, District 4, Place 4; Andrew Tolchin, Houston, District 4, Place 6; Mary L. Scott, Dallas, District 6, Place 3; Chad Baruch, Dallas, District 6, Place 4; D. Todd Smith, Austin, District 9, Place 1; Carra Miller, Corpus Christi, District 11; Lydia Elizondo Mount, McAllen, District 12; Kimberly Pack Wilson, Stephenville, District 14; Steve Fischer, El Paso, District 17.

Texas Young Lawyers Association election

In the Texas Young Lawyers Association election, Jeanine Novosad Rispoli of Waco was elected president-elect and will serve as TYLA president from June 2021 to June 2022.

Rispoli received 57 percent of the 3,401 votes cast, while her opponent, Donald Delgado of College Station, received 42 percent. Write-in candidates accounted for 1 percent of the votes cast.

Rispoli was inspired to be a lawyer from an early age after learning of her adoption. Adopted in San Antonio and raised in Houston and Sugar Land, she graduated from Baylor University and Baylor Law School before returning to Houston to practice.

Rispoli moved back to Waco to join a large firm. Her passion for helping families led to opening Rispoli Law Firm in 2018. Rispoli’s goal is to help families build a better future, paying back the help her adoptive and biological families received. She enjoys volunteering through the Baylor Law Veterans Clinic and pro bono adoptions.

She served on the TYLA Local Affiliates and Attorney Wellness committees, is a State Bar of Texas Local Bar Services Committee member, Junior League of Waco secretary, Texas Bar Foundation fellow, LeadershipSBOT graduate, and frequent mock trial judge. Rispoli speaks regularly on panels to law students and young lawyers and mentors law and pre-law students.

She and her husband, Stephen, enjoy time outdoors with their Labrador, Khaleesi.

The following individuals were elected to the TYLA Board of Directors:

Padon D. Holt, College Station, District 2; Ryan R. Bauerle, Plano, District 4; Hisham A. Masri, Dallas, District, 5, Place 2; Michael Gaston-Bell, Dallas, District 5, Place 4; Eduardo Canales, Houston, District 6, Place 2; Ashley Hymel, Houston, District 6, Place 4; Katie A. Fillmore, Austin, District 8, Place 2; Martin A. Garcia, Fort Worth, District 10, Place 2; Matthew S. Manning, Corpus Christi, District 12; Kirk Cooper, El Paso, District 14; Courtney White, Amarillo, District 16.

Detailed election results are available at texasbar.com/elections.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post