• December 2, 2021
 El Paso ISD’s CCTE Students Advance to State HOSA Competition

Photo courtesy EPISD

El Paso ISD’s CCTE Students Advance to State HOSA Competition

El Paso ISD’s Center for Career and Technology Education students placed at the regional Health Occupations Students of America (HOSA) competition.

13 students from across the district placed first in seven events.  Students who placed will now compete at the state competition in April.

HOSA, an international student organization recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Health Science Education (HSE) Division of ACTE, was created to promote career opportunities in the health care industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.

Below are the results of the regional competition:

1st Place MRC Partnership

Jesus Alvidrez – Franklin

Nicole Ceniceros – El Paso

Amanda Hernandez – Irvin

Inaya Lemus – Chapin

Jordan Walls – Chapin


1st Place EMT

Cindy Oliveros – El Paso

Pablos Perez – Coronado


1st Place CERT

Mofo Tah – Franklin

Sofia Williams – Franklin


1st Place Clinical Specialty

Elizabeth Archard – Coronado


1st Place Veterinary Science

Matthew Hernandez – Chapin


1st Place Medial Law and Ethics

Alex Soriano – Burges


1st Place Transcultural Healthcare

Jose Alvarado – El Paso High


2nd Place CERT

Lidice Soto – Coronado

Andrea Guevara – Coronado


2nd Place Research Persuasive Speaking

Corey Hicks – Burges


2nd Place Health Career Photography

Malaika Tah – Franklin


2nd Place CPR/First AID

Carla Barron – Bowie

Chasity – Burges


2nd Place Biomedical Laboratory Science

Omar Hernandez-Dowl – Chapin


2nd Place Pharmacology

Adrian Carrejo – Andress


3rd place Sports Medicine

Maggie Armstrong – El Paso High


3rd Place First Aid/CPR

Melissa Ibarra – Austin

Jimmalyz Oyola – Austin


3rd Place Medical Math

Marc Aguilar – Austin


4th Place Extemporaneous Writing

Carmen Garcia – Franklin


4th Place Public Service Announcement

Alexus Banda – El Paso High

Cinthia Bretado – Jefferson

Karina Chavez – Chapin

Ashley Cruz – Andress

Jade Denton – Chapin

Alyssa Guerrero – El Paso High


4th Place Parliamentary Procedure

Emily Aguirre – Silva

Baily Fritz – Chapin

Imara Jackson – Andress

Victoria Martinez – Silva

Chimay Mullins – Chapin

Claudio Perea – Coronado

Photo courtesy EPISD
Photo courtesy EPISD

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications