• May 17, 2022
 EPISD student artists craft cards of gratitude for El Paso nurses

Photo courtesy EPISD

EPISD student artists craft cards of gratitude for El Paso nurses

Officials at University Medical Center fittingly declared 2020 as the Year of the Nurse in an effort to thank the medical professionals tirelessly working to help save the lives of El Pasoans during the pandemic.

To help commemorate their work and show gratitude during these most difficult of times, student artists from all corners of EPISD participated in a program in collaboration with the local chapter of the National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN) to create and distribute thank-you cards specifically designed for them.

EPISD Fine Arts gathered more than 300 cards and in cooperation with the nurses association decided to reward the top artists in the elementary, middle and high school divisions. The winners are:

  • Elementary Division: Alexa Ciloro Favela, Roberts Elementary. Teacher: Abigail Vargas.
  • Middle School Division: Destiny Barrios, Brown Middle. Teacher: Laura Jasso.
  • High School Division: Hailey Gerhart, Franklin High. Teacher: Kim Strain.

The winners will receive art supplies courtesy of NAHN delivered safely to their home. Copies of the winners as well as other stand-out entries will be featured prominently during the El Paso County’s “A Night of Hope” Holidays celebration at Ascarate Park on Dec. 12.

All the cards that were created by EPISD students were delivered to nurses at hospitals as they started their shifts. Each card included a heartfelt message of gratitude.

To view a gallery of some of the entries, click here.

Author: Gustavo Reveles -EPISD

Photo courtesy EPISD
Photo courtesy EPISD


Outside Author

Outside Authors are professional writers, employed by corporations, businesses, organizations, school districts or others who provide content for media outlets or the general public. Their work is vetted by EPHP editors and sometimes formatted for readability and presentation.

Related post