• December 2, 2021
 Field set for 2019 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic

Field set for 2019 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic

Quade Cummins, of Weatherford, Okla., is returning to El Paso to defend his title in the 2019 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, which is set for November 24-26 at El Paso Country Club.

Cummins, who will be a part of the largest field ever at the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, won the tournament title in 2018, finishing 54 holes of play in a tie for first.  He took home the Lee Trevino Trophy last year after defeating Spencer Ralston in a playoff hole on the final day of play. That was the first time since 2011 that there was a playoff in the All-America Golf Classic, while it also marked the 14th tournament that the winner has been crowned after a playoff.

Fans don’t want to miss the opportunity to see future PGA Tour players in action on the par 71, 6,889 yard El Paso Country Club course.  There are 37 players from all around the world coming to El Paso, hoping to do what Tiger Woods did in 1997.  They have achieved All-America status or have a high-amateur ranking.

This is the largest field the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic has had eclipsing the previous high of 32 participants, which happened in 2009.

“It seemed, early on that we might not be able to fill a strong field, but once again the golf committee continues to work tirelessly to bring some of the best amateur players in the country to El Paso,” said Sun Bowl Association Executive Director Bernie Olivas. “This year is no different. We invite everyone to come out and watch the competition and even get autographs and pictures with future pros.”

There are four players making their second appearance in the Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic, including Mason Overstreet, Peng Pichaikool, Matthias Schmid and Cummins, who will be attempting to become only the third player to ever win back-to-back All-America Golf Classic titles.  Gavin Green won the 2013 and 2014 tournaments, while Chris Patton won in 1988 and 1989.

“Players are invited to this tournament because of their many college achievements and outstanding amateur career and ranking,” said Tournament Director Bob Kimble.  “I can assure the fans that many future PGA Tour players will be out on the course during this tournament.”

The Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic is one of the premier amateur golf tournaments in the country. Some of golf’s brightest stars have traveled to El Paso to compete in the tournament since its inaugural year in 1974.

Jordan Spieth, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Davis Love III, Justin Thomas, Notah Begay and Jerry Pate are just a handful of past participants who went on to have successful PGA careers.

College All-America Golf Classic Alumni have combined to win 53 major championships and have earned over $2 billion in career earnings.

The annual event starts with the Titleist Long Drive Contest and PING Putting Contest on Sunday, Nov. 24 at 9 a.m. (MT).  The best opportunity for fans to get photos with the future PGA players and obtain autographs is on Sunday immediately following the two contests.

Rounds one and two are scheduled for Monday, Nov. 25 with a shotgun start scheduled for 8 a.m. (MT) while the final round is set for 8 a.m. (MT) on Tuesday, Nov. 26.

The Lee Trevino Trophy will be presented to the winner immediately following Tuesday’s play.

2019 Sun Bowl Marathon All-America Golf Classic Participants


Ludvig Aberg Eslov, Sweden Texas Tech
Philip Barbaree Shreveport, Louisiana LSU
Garrett Barber Stuart, Florida LSU
Albin Bergstrom Ljunghusen, Sweden USF
William Buhl Fairhope, Alabama Arkansas
Parker Coody Plano, Texas Texas
Kyle Cottam Knoxville, Tennessee Clemson
Quade Cummins Weatherford, Oklahoma Oklahoma
Adrien Dumont de Chassart Villers la Ville, Belgium Illinois
Hunter Eichhorn Carney, Michigan Marquette
Michael Feagles Scottsdale, Arizona Illinois
Jerry Ji Hoofddorp, Netherlands Illinois
Tripp Kinney Waukee, Iowa Iowa State
Peter Kuest Fresno, California BYU
Junmin “Jimmy” Lee Mission, Texas Texas A&M
Jamie Li Bath, England Florida State
RJ Manke Lakewood, Washington Pepperdine
Logan McAllister Oklahoma City, Oklahoma Oklahoma
Joshua McCarthy Danville, California Pepperdine
William Moll Houston, Texas Vanderbilt
William Mouw Chino, California Pepperdine
John Murphy Kinsale, Ireland Louisville
Mason Overstreet Kingfisher, Oklahoma Arkansas
Julian Perico Lima, Peru Arkansas
Trent Phillips Inman, South Carolina Georgia
Peng Pichaikool Bangkok, Thailand Mississippi State
Rhett Rasmussen Draper, Utah BYU
Garett Reband Fort Worth, Texas Oklahoma
Matthias Schmid Maxhvette, Germany Louisville
Sandy Scott Nairn, Scotland Texas Tech
Benjamin Shipp Duluth, Georgia NC State
Max Steinlechner Innsbruck, Austria NC State
Zan Luka Stirn Kranj, Slovenia Arkansas State
Jack Trent Sunshine Coast, Australia UNLV
Patrick Welch Providence, Rhode Island Oklahoma
Trevor Werbylo Tucson, Arizona Arizona
Trey Winstead Baton Rouge, Louisiana LSU

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications