• December 5, 2021
 Gallery+Story: Flyin’ Miners Close Out UTEP Springtime Meet

UTEP springtime Tack Meet, Kidd Field, El Paso Texas, March 16, 2019, Andres Acosta / El Paso Herald-Post

Gallery+Story: Flyin’ Miners Close Out UTEP Springtime Meet

The UTEP track and field team closed out the second day of action at the UTEP Springtime.

The team honored seniors Lilian Koech, Rebecca Oshinbanjo, Dreshanae Rolle, Carvellion Horn and Antony Kosgei, as they competed in their last home meet of their collegiate careers.  

The women’s 4x100m relay opened the collegiate events. Representing the women’s squad were Maribel Caicedo, Madison Gibson, Oshinbanjo and Geraldy Barron. The Miners got off to a solid start, but New Mexico Junior College edged UTEP out by posting a time of 47.31. The Miners clocked in at 47.60, taking second overall. 

On the field, freshman Chantoba Bright continued her success by posting a winning leap of 6.30m (20-08.00) W:3.1. Her mark currently rates first in the nation. Bright also notched a wind-legal mark of 6.23m, which rates fourth all time in the UTEP record book. 

Newcomers Roosa Ylönenand Kaylah Shepherd opened the outdoor season representing the Miners in the javelin. The Miners went one-two, with Ylönenregistering a winning toss of 46.76m (153-05). Shepherd’s best toss of 42.06m (138-00) came in her second attempt of the day.

Senior Koech took the track for the final time at home in the Orange and Blue, claiming first place in the 400m with a time of 56.12. Madison Gibson crossed the finish line third with a time of 57.72. 

Winny Koech made her return to the track taking first in the mile with a time of 5:12.90. 

Teammate Carolyne Chepkosgei secured the top spot in the 800m with a personal best of 2:14.16. Her time currently rates sixth nationally. 

In the women’s 100m hurdles, Maribel Caicedo won the event with a time of 14.01. Teammate Oshinbanjo finished third, stopping the watch at 14.15. 

Karoline Daland led the UTEP women in the 400m hurdles, clocking in a second-place finish with a time of 1:05.02. Breona Pinkney took fifth with a time of 1:09.08.

Aphiniti Crupper claimed the win in the women’s 200m with a time of 25.25 (W:3.3). 

Sean Bailey led the men’s team, registering a personal-best time of 21.10 in the 200m to notch first overall. His time is currently the third-fastest time collegiately. The transfer also posted a winning time of 47.36 in the men’s 400m. 

On the field, freshman Iason Machairas led the Miners in the shot put with a toss of 17.52m (57-05.75) to claim second overall. Teammate Benjamin Coronado took third with a mark of 15.30m (50-02.50). 

In the men’s long jump, Devin Mungro won the event with a leap of 6.80m (22-03.75) W: 3.0. 

In the high jump, Emilio Rios won with a jump of 1.93m (6-04.00). Teammate Austin Ondijo took second with the leap of 1.88m (6-02.00). 

The men’s 800m featured Michael Sims, Isaiah Page and Cornelius Kapel. The Miners notched the top three spots in the leaderboard, with Sims leading the way with a personal-best time of 2:05.71. Page followed with a clocking of 2:05.99, while Kapel took third with a readout of 2:06.05. 

Shakeem Smith opened the outdoor season with a win in the 110m hurdles. The junior notched a winning time of 14.73 (W: 3.7).

The Miners will return to the track on March 27 for the Nike Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays in Austin, Texas. ​

Photo gallery by Andres ‘Ace’ Acosta – Chief Photographer – El Paso Herald Post

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications