• September 17, 2021
 Flyin’ Miners grab seven 1st place finishes on final day of Roadrunner Invitational

Graphic courtesy UTEP

Flyin’ Miners grab seven 1st place finishes on final day of Roadrunner Invitational

SAN ANTONIO  – The women’s and men’s 4x100m relay teams, Maribel Caicedo (100m hurdles), Carolyne Chepkosgei (800m), Jevaughn Powell (200m), Oghenekaro Brume (400m), and Sean Bailey (400m) all won gold medals, while seven other Miners claimed silver-medal finishes on the final day at the Roadrunner Invitational at UTSA Park West Athletics Complex on a windy Saturday Afternoon.

“Carolyne Chepkosgei on the women’s side, and Jevaughn Powell and Dennis Johnson on the men’s side were the highlights for us today,” UTEP Head Coach Mika Laaksonen said. “Wind ruined the distance events when it came to times, but we still competed hard in those events which was great to see. We also got reasonable amount of personal bests from this meet which is always good at this point of the season. I wish there were more teams, since bit ‘stiffer’ challenge would have brought more out of our best people.”

The women’s 4x100m relay team composed of Caicedo, Brume, Chinique Brown and Denae McFarlane won its second race of the season, clocking in a 46.32.

UTEP beat UTSA out by 41 seconds. The Miners’ first victory came on the same track at the UTSA Invitational on March 20.

The men, which competed in its second 4×100 event, won its first relay of the season as Shakeem Smith, Bailey, Chevannie Hanson and Dennis Johnson posted a time of 40.54. UTEP beat out UIW by 21 seconds.

Caicedo claimed gold for the first time during the season in the 100m hurdles, clocking in a 13.51w (4.0).

Carolyne Chepkosgei won the 800m, registering a time of 2:08.95. It was her first 800m win of the season.

Powell placed first in the 200m dash, recording a time of 20.92w (4.5). Hanson finished third (21.08w [2.8]).

Bailey won his second 400m dash of the season with a time of 48.14, while Joshua Hill was runner up (48.24). On the women’s side, Brume claimed her first career 400m victory with a personal-best 56.04.

Johnson finished second in the 100m dash with a time of 10.35w (5.4), while on the women’s side McFarlane 11.60w (3.9) also placed second.

Smith claimed silver in the 400m hurdles, clocking in a 51.51.

Ruth Jerubet finished second in the 1500m with a time of 4:39.64.

Titus Cheruiyot competed in his first career 1500m run and placed second with a time of 3:59.82.

Aleks Hristov placed second with a mark of 54.51m (178-10) in the discus.

Up next,UTEP will travel to Albuquerque, N.M., to compete at New Mexico’s Don Kirby Tailwind Invitational on Thursday, April 22.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications