• November 27, 2021
 Flyin’ Miners head to Lubbock to open Indoor Season at the Texas Tech Corky Classic

Sean Bailey | Photo courtesy CUSA

Flyin’ Miners head to Lubbock to open Indoor Season at the Texas Tech Corky Classic

The 2020 indoor season will commence for the UTEP Track & Field team on Friday, January 17 at the Texas Tech Corky Classic at the Sports Performance Center in Lubbock.

This season year’s meet is a two-day event continuing through Saturday, Jan. 18.

The Corky Classic will start up Friday afternoon with the field events as the weight throw and pole vault B sections (women followed by men) will start at 4 p.m. CT. The long jump B section will begin at 5 p.m. CT. The running events will start with the women’s 3000m B section run at 5 p.m. CT, while the men will take the course at 5:30 for its 3000m B section competition.

For Saturday, the field events will begin at 11 a.m. CT with the weight throw and pole vault A sections.

Competing for the Miners this weekend on the men’s side are Sean Baily (600y, 4x400m), Davion Bynaum (60m, 200m), Cory Calvani (600m), Titus Cheruiyot (1000m, 3000m), Arturo Ciriza (pole vault), Benjamin Coronado (shot put, weight throw), Alek Duran (1000m, 3000m), James Flournoy (200m, 400m, 4x400m), Cornelius Kapel (1000m, 3000m), Rodgers Korir (3000m, 5000m), Markiet Loggins (high jump), Devin Mungro (long jump, triple jump), Austin Ondijo (high jump), Jevaughn Powell (200m, 4x400m), Kayn Quinones (3000m), Emilio Rios (high jump), Holden Rivera (60m hurdles), Keith Rodriguez (pole vault), Boaz Ronoh (3000m, 5000m), Michael Sims (1000m, mile), Shakeem Smith (60m hurdles, 4x400m), Kenneth Talavera (1000m) and Samuel Zambrano (3000m).

On the women’s side are Geraldy Barron (60m, 200m), Chantoba Bright (long jump, triple jump), Maribel Caicedo (60m hurdles), Cierra Chenault (shot put, weight throw), Carolyne Chepkosgie (800m, 1000m), Linda Cheruiyot (3000m), Samantha Cordier (shot put, weight throw), Aphiniti Crupper (200m, 4x400m), Karoline Daland (1000m), Johna Diggs (60m, 200m), Yasmine George (400m, 4x400m), Madison Gibson (200m, 4x400m), Carshaylah Harrison (60m hurdles), Madeline Jones (60m, 200m), Joan Kimaiyo (3000m), Kayla Larry (shot put, weight throw), Andrea Lucero (1000m), Natalia Roberts (200m, 4x400m) and Sah-Jay Stevens (shot put, weight throw).

UTEP saw success at last year’s event, as Chepkosgei finished in first in the 1000m, notching a person-best time of 2:53.74. Ronoh, Korir and Kapel finished one, two and three, respectively in the 3000m run, while Koncos headed the field in the weight throw, tallying a long-toss of 18.54m.

Watch LIVE here   |    Follow Live results here.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications