UTEP Track & Field
UTEP Track & Field

Flyin’ Miners set to compete at Roadrunner Invitational

The UTEP track and field team will make its second trip of the outdoor season to San Antonio to compete at the Roadrunner Invitational on April 15-17.

The meet starts on Thursday, while the Miners will start competition on Friday.

Friday’s field events will start with the hammer throw at 1 p.m. MT, followed by the shot put, while the 3000m steeplechase and 5000m will begin at 7 p.m. MT. On Saturday, the field events will start at 10 a.m. MT, and the running events will shoot off at 1 p.m. MT.

The Miners will compete against host UTSA, Akron, Grand Canyon, Rice, Stephen F. Austin, Texas, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi, UIW and UTRGV.

Bailey enters the weekend ranked 10th nationally in the 400m and first in Conference USA with his 45.46 at the Texas Relays a few weeks back.

Shakeem Smith ranks 10th nationally in the 400m hurdles, clocking in a 50.45 at the Texas Relays.

Hanson ranks 19th nationally and first in C-USA in the 200m after posting a time of 20.67 at the Texas Relays.

Chepkosgei ranks second in C-USA in the 800m, registering a 2:08.85 at the Texas Relays.


Traveling to San Antonio on the women’s side: Geraldy Barron (100m, 200m), Chinique Brown (200m, 400m, 4×100), Oghenekaro Brume (400m, 4×100), Maribel Caicedo (200m, 100m hurdles, 4×100), Cierra Chenault (shot put, hammer throw), Carolyne Chepkosgei (800m), Samantha Cordier (shot put, discus, hammer throw), Karoline Daland (1500m, 3000m steeplechase), Carshaylah Harrison (high jump), Ruth Jerubet (1500m, 5000m), Madeline Jones (100m, 200m), Joan Kimaiyo (5000m), Kayla Larry (shot put, discus, hammer throw), Andrea Lucero (1500m), Denae McFarlane (100m, 200m, 4×100), Natalia Roberts (200m, 400m), and Sah-Jay Stevens (shot put, hammer throw).

Making the trip for the men are: Ned Azemia (400m hurdles), Sean Bailey (400m, 4×100), Paulo Benavides (pole vault), Titus Cheruiyot (1500m, 5000m), Arturo Ciriza (pole vault), Dereck Constance Parris (400m hurdles), Benjamin Coronado (shot put, discus, hammer throw), Ronaldo Griffiths (400m hurdles), Chevannie Hanson (200m, 4×100), Kevin Hewitt (400m), Joshua Hill (400m), Aleks Hristov (discus, hammer throw), Dennis Johnson (100m, 4×100), Maxwell Kipkosgei (1500m, 5000m), Karol Koncos (hammer throw), Rodgers Korir (5000m), Misael Ortiz (shot put, discus, hammer throw), Jevaughn Powell (200m), Emilio Rios (high jump), Michael Sims (1500m), Shakeem Smith (400m hurdles, 4×100), Kenneth Talavera (1500m), Ishmel Williams (high jump) and Osaze Williams (400m).