• May 20, 2022
 Flyin’ Miners to close regular season at Arizona’s Desert Heat Classic, Texas Invitational

Chevannie Hanson | Photo courtesy UNM Athletics

Flyin’ Miners to close regular season at Arizona’s Desert Heat Classic, Texas Invitational

With the Conference USA Track and Field Outdoor Championships on the horizon, the UTEP track and field team will conclude the regular season at the University of Arizona’s Desert Heat Classic and Texas Invitational on Saturday, May 1.

“We are excited about this weekend’s opportunity at the Desert Heat Classic in Arizona,” UTEP Head Coach Mika Laaksonen said. “It’s a great venue and setting to achieve season-best marks. The goal is to use this as a final tune up for the Conference USA Championships (May 13-16) and keep our student-athletes healthy.”

The majority of the Miners will make the trip to Tucson, Ariz., at Roy P. Drachman Stadium while pole vaulters Paulo Benavides and Arturo Ciriza, and high jumpers Ishmel Williams and Emilio Rios will compete in Austin, Texas, at Mike A. Myers Stadium.

At the Desert Heat Classic, UTEP will be competing against host Arizona, Arizona State, Grand Canyon, Northern Arizona, NM State, Oklahoma, Oregon, UNLV, and Utah Valley.

At the Texas Invitational, Benavides and Ciriza will start the pole vault event on Saturday at 10:30 a.m. MT, while high jumpers Williams and Rios will leap at 1:30 p.m. MT.

The Desert Heat Classic will commence with the field events starting at 1 p.m. MT, while the running events will begin at 6:40 p.m. MT.

Click HERE for the C-USA Outdoor Performance List.

Notable UTEP Male C-USA Rankings

1st – Chevannie Hanson – 200m (20.67), 3rd – 400m (46.34)

1st – Sean Bailey – 400m (45.46)

1st – Shakeem Smith – 400m hurdles (50.45), 3rd – 110m hurdles (13.95)

1st – Karol Koncos – Hammer (65.59m | 215-2)

1st – UTEP 4x400m relay (3:05.84)

2nd – UTEP 4x100m relay (40.26)

3rd – Jevaughn Powell – 200m (20.92)

3rd – Dennis Johnson – 100m (10.28)

3rd – Kenneth Talavera – 800m (1:51.57)

Notable UTEP Female C-USA Rankings

1st – Maribel Caicedo – 100m hurdles (13.51)

1st – Karoline Daland – 3000m steeplechase (10:47.78)

2nd – Carolyne Chepkosgei – 800m (2:08.85)

2nd – Roosa Yloenen – Javelin (53.37m | 175-1)

Competing for the women at the Desert Heat are Geraldy Barron (200m), Chinique Brown (200m, 4×400), Oghenekaro Brume (400m, 4×400), Cierra Chenault (shot put, hammer), Carolyne Chepkosgei (800m, 4×400), Samantha Cordier (shot put, discus, hammer), Aphiniti Crupper (200m), Karoline Daland (3000m steeplechase), Carshaylah Harrison (400m hurdles, high jump), Ruth Jerubet (5000m), Madeline Jones (100m), Joan Kimaiyo (5000m), Kayla Larry (shot put, discus, hammer), Andrea Lucero (800m), Denae McFarlane (100m, 4×400), Nia Reneau (long jump), Natalia Roberts (200m), Sah-Jay Stevens (shot put, hammer), and Roosa Yloenen (javelin).

Heading to Arizona for the men are Ned Azemia (400m hurdles), Sean Bailey (400m, 4×400), Titus Cheruiyot (3000m), Benjamin Coronado (shot put, discus, hammer), Ronaldo Griffiths (400m hurdles), Chevannie Hanson (400m, 4×400), Kevin Hewitt (400m), Joshua Hill (400m, 4×400), Aleks Hristov (shot put, discus), Dennis Johnson (100m), Maxwell Kipkosgei (mile), Karol Koncos (hammer), Rodgers Korir (3000m), Yusuf Mohamud (800m), Devin Mungro (long jump), Misael Ortiz (shot put, discus, hammer), Jevaughn Powell (200m, 4×400), Michael Sims (mile), Shakeem Smith (400m hurdles), Kenneth Talavera (mile), and Osaze Williams (800m).

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post