• October 23, 2021
 Franklin students honored by UN group for community service

Franklin students honored by UN group for community service

The United Nations Association of the USA (UNA-USA) and InnerView recognized 156 Franklin High School Students at the 2nd Annual National Community Service Awards.

This program has been designed to connect student community service activities and commitment to the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) to transform our world.

Students from Franklin High School delivered the most impact for SDG 3 – Good Health & Well-Being.

Collectively, Franklin students completed 10,873 service hours and personal activities to address local needs.  This achievement earned an additional distinction of the Emerald Award for outstanding impact.

“Youth efforts and voices are essential to achieve the SDGs.  These awards allow us to share our appreciation for youth leaders who have invested talent and effort in the causes they care about,” said Rachel Bowen Pittman, executive director of UNA-USA.

“We are encouraged that educators are including community service and cultural engagement in the educational experience of their students.”

Students in the program develop a digital service resume for use in job and college applications to demonstrate personal commitment, 21st century skills, and key areas of interest.

The program recognizes a range of student achievement including the following areas merit, honor and ambassador.

Below are Franklin’s award winners:

Ambassador Awardees:

Natalia Blanco, Bradley DeMeritt, Lily , Leila Pettibone, Fabian Ramirez, Eleanor Schoenbrun, Sophia Solis and Haley Walker.

Honor Awardees:

Maram Abdeljaber, Zaina Alsarraj, Ezekiel Ambriz, Brenna April, Samantha Aragon, Cheyenne Kayla Bateman, Darielle Baustert, Annette Calderon, Emily Do, Natalie Elias, Margarita Enriquez, Karlina Franco, Kameelah Freeman, Taylor Gill, Malu Gonzalez, Larissa Guevara, Serena Gutierrez, Zara Huerta, Connie Jaloma, Alex Kelly, Crystal Lefferts, Jonah Martinez, Nicole Martinez, Amethyst Massaquoi, Mia Melnick, Lauren Menchaca, Nichole Mendez, Zayda Morales, Angelina Noel, Zola Ontiveros, Dominique Ordonez, Danielle Romero, Madison Rosen, Nicholas Ruiz, Jadynne Sandhu, Muriel Sandoval, Julian Sarmiento, Leon Smith, Muskaan Tayal, Paola Trevizo, Eddie Urquiza, Kristofer Valerio, Heavyn Varela, Carolina Villalpando, Yuko Ward, Bailie Whetten

Merit Awardees: Hailey Acosta, Leonor Arce, Julia Aziz, Gabby Baca, Austin Blake, Luke Bohannon, Colby Borak, Jordan Burchfield, Braeden Byrd, Joseramon Cardenas, Vivianna Castro, Maddy Chapa, Jackson Chavez, Kayla Chavez, Alejandra Chee, Chengyi Chen, Devyn Clark, Carlos De Leon, Gabriel Del Campo, Joshua DeMorris, Isabelle Diaz, Alyssa Duran, Isabella Eschbach, Nathan Eschbach, Jayna Fegans, Vanessa Flores, Mundo , Luisa Garcia, Roberto Garcia, Veronica Gonzalez Fernandez, Amerika Granillo, Anika Grendell, Tomas Gutierrez, Emily Hammer, Fazila Haque, Ashley Hendrix, Delilah Hernandez, Jacklin Hernandez, Pamela Hernandez, Jack Himes, Aurora Holt, Dylan Horner, Maria Islas, Eva Jess, Trevor Jess, Beatrice Laberge, Trinity Letuli, Allyson Little, Clarissa Lopez, Itzel Luna, Andy Ma, Alex Marquez, Devin Martinez, Aileen Medina, Albert Mendez, Lauren Montes, Sophia Montes, Natalie Moreno, Madison Morgan, Alondra , Julyann Munoz, Blanca Navarrete, Matthew Nieto, Tori Nolan, Ilissa , Nicholas Ochoa, Isabel Olivas, Valeria Ortega, Jazlen Pacheco, Michelle Pineda, Isaiah Polanco, Joanna Preciado, Isaak Quinones, Katelyn Quinones, Diego Ramos, Camille Raux, Gillian Roman, Meril Saied, Jordan Salas, Esmeralda Salazar, Paulina Sandoval, Chiara Schafer, Timothy Schwarz, Erick Silva, Ian Skillman, Joseph Stuart, Summer Sullivan, Juan Carlos Tanabe, Lauren Torres, Nichole Valenzuela, Kennedy Varela, Victoria Venzor, Adam Vick, Kaili Villalobos, Victoria Villalobos, Sarah Villaronga, Amelia Whitener, Crystal Williams, Amanda Wimberly, Dahlia Wood, Valeria Yu and Jennifer Zuniga.

Story by Reneé De Santos  |  Photo by Leonel Monroy – EPISD

Guest Columnist

Guest Columnists are residents who feel so strongly about a news event, a story or some other issue, that they decided to put their thoughts to paper - or computer screens. Or they are writers who have made their work available via other channels and we feature their work here, with permission. If you'd like to submit a column, please contact us at news@epheraldpost.com

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info. Your info is never shared and we would love for you to share our app with your friends!
Allow Notifications