• January 27, 2022
 Gallery+Story: UTEP welcomes 2020 Terry Scholars via virtual ceremony

Gallery+Story: UTEP welcomes 2020 Terry Scholars via virtual ceremony

In light of the ongoing COVID-19 outbreak and social distancing guidelines, UTEP hosted a virtual event Friday, May 15, 2020, to recognize the newest recipients of the Terry Foundation Scholarship.

“We are so happy to welcome the 2020 cohort of Terry Scholars to the UTEP family,” said Gary Edens, Ed.D., vice president for student affairs.

“This fantastic group of students represents the very best of this years graduating high school senior class. Their academic excellence and extracurricular achievements are impressive and will be put to good use as they start classes this fall and become engaged leaders on the UTEP campus.”

The interactive meeting featured questions addressed to the nine Terry Scholars from the El Paso area. It also welcomed parents, school administrators and peers to partake in this remote, yet collective, experience by offering a few words of praise to the students for their accomplishment.

The Terry Foundation serves 13 public institutions throughout Texas and has partnered with UTEP since 2015.

The foundation provides a full-ride scholarship to individuals who exhibit qualities of leadership, community engagement and academic merit.

“These nine high school seniors are outstanding representatives of their schools, their communities, and their city in every way,” said Annet Rodriguez, UTEP Terry Scholars coordinator.

“I look forward to working with them and seeing their professional and academic growth as they pursue their degrees from The University of Texas at El Paso.”

To learn more about the Terry Scholarship program, click here.

The 2020 Terry Scholars are:

o   Bryan Arriaga – Horizon High School

o   Ania Fierro – Jefferson High School

o   Ana Garcia – El Paso High School

o   Eric Gardea – Horizon High School

o   Matthew Gardea – Horizon High School

o   Emiru Ishikawa – J.M. Hanks High School

o   Alberto Villegas – J.M. Hanks High School

o   Yesenia Juarez – Maxine Silva Health Magnet School

o   Diana Lopez-Valdez – Loretto Academy

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post