Lujan named NMSU’s Roberts Memorial Staff Award recipient
Albertina Lujan, the 2021 Roberts award winner. (NMSU photo by Josh Bachman)

Lujan named NMSU’s Roberts Memorial Staff Award recipient

Every year, one NMSU staff member is awarded the Stephen W. and Robert E. Roberts Memorial Staff Award, an award to recognize those who are dedicated and provide outstanding service to the university.

This year’s recipient is Albertina “Tina” Lujan, an administrative associate for the Doña Ana Community College Business and Finance/Facilities Support.

Serving as an NMSU staff member for 10 years, Lujan works with the facilities manager, assistant manager and security and custodial services to oversee the operation of six campus locations spread across Doña Ana County.

“I’m so honored to receive this award and flattered that Mike took the time and effort to nominate me,” Lujan said. “The past year has been challenging for everyone, so this year’s award is especially heartfelt because I know so many individuals who worked hard to help keep our college community healthy and safe. I was asked what motivates me to work my best to achieve outstanding service to the university and I would say that I was once the new employee and the new student trying to find my way and I had people who helped me. I am glad to be able to return the favor.”

In addition to her administrative tasks, Lujan is responsible for the direct control of facility lock systems, making daily changes for faculty building and classroom access control for faculty and staff. She is also responsible for the creation and distribution of work orders and all purchases to meet the standards for classrooms and offices.

“Ms. Lujan is every bit the heart and soul of our Facilities support organization,” said Mike Luchau, DACC Facility Services manager. “Ms. Lujan has been able to perform her duties as an administrative assistant in a truly exemplary fashion while balancing her role as a single mother raising two teenage daughters and continuing her education at NMSU.”

Lujan will receive the award through a Zoom ceremony, Friday, Nov. 12.

“I would like to thank the Roberts Family, the NMSU Employee Council, DACC and especially the Facilities Support Department. I’m proud to be a part of the DACC community,” she said.

Also nominated for the award were Corina Acosta, Ofelia Acosta, Nicole Heckathorn, Veronica Jara, Kathleen Medina, Edward Morris, Jaime Jo Nystul, Rebecca “Becky” Ponce, Leslie Sanchez, Erica Tontodonati and Patricia Vargas.

Author: Nicole E. Drake

For more information on NMSU, Click Here   |   For our complete coverage of NMSU, Click Here