Miners Set to host Price’s Give ‘Em Five Invitational starting today

The UTEP men’s golf team will host the fourth annual Price’s Give ‘Em Five Invitational this weekend (Oct. 23-25) at the Butterfield Trail Golf Club, which is the only home tournament for the 2015-16 season.

The team is fresh off its first tournament win on Tuesday (Oct. 20) at the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate, which was the team’s first tournament win since 2005. UTEP finished first out of 14 teams with a two-over par 854 (284-288-282).

Play will begin at 8 a.m. (MT) both Friday and Saturday featuring actual tee times, and Sunday will feature an 8:15 a.m. shotgun start.

This year’s field will feature 14 teams, as the course will play as a 7,307-yard par 72. The participating schools are: Air Force, Army, George Washington, Idaho, Kansas, Marquette, New Mexico State, San Jose State, St. Mary’s, Texas State, UMKC, UTEP, UTSA, and Western New Mexico.

Competing this weekend for the Miners will be Frederik Dreier (71.3 scoring average), Charlie Corner (72.3), Andreas Sorenson (73.5), Prescott Mann (75.1), and Nicklas Pihl (75.6).

Frederik Dreier has finished in the top five in two out of the three tournaments he’s participated in this year. Dreier finished third at the Gene Miranda Invitational with a six-under par 210 (68-70-72), and second in the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate with a one-under par 212 (71-71-70.)

Fellow Denmark native, Andreas Sorenson has already earned a top-10 finish for the Miners after only competing in two tournaments, when he placed fourth at the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate.

Charlie Corner achieved a career-best score of a four-over par 217 (73-72-72), finishing in 11th place, while Nicklas Pihl shot for a career-best low round of 68 in his third round on Tuesday.

Miner golfers Chad Ahn, Ben Getman, Evan Macias, Settavut Paradee, and Jose Romero will also be competing as individuals.

For the past two years New Mexico State has taken the team title with a 46-under par 818 (272-271-275) last year, and a 28-under par 836 (278-273-285) in 2013.

Individual champions from last year, Cody Blick (San Jose Sate) and Antoine Rozner (UMKC), will be returning for the 2015 edition of the tournament. Blick and Rozner tied for first place at 18-under par apiece while no playoff took place due to travel curfew.

Designed by Tom Fazio and located just minutes from the El Paso Airport, Butterfield Trail was rated the third-best municipal course in the nation by Golfweek in 2010.

Author: UTEP Athletics