window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-29484371-30');
Wednesday , January 23 2019
Bordertown Undergroun Show 728
RHINOS 2018-2019 728
Home | News | NMSU faculty, staff honored for work in developing top online courses
New Mexico State University Executive Vice President and Provost Dan Howard, right, congratulates Patricia MacGregor-Mendoza, professor of Spanish and linguistics, during the Instructional Innovation & Quality awards and celebration event Nov. 12. MacGregor-Mendoza was honored with the Leading the Way Award and was among those recognized for their work in developing Quality Matters nationally recognized courses. (NMSU Photo) NOV15

NMSU faculty, staff honored for work in developing top online courses

New Mexico State University faculty and staff were recognized at the Instructional Innovation and Quality awards celebration Nov. 12 for their achievements during 2015 in professional development for online courses and improvements in online course design.

The IIQ unit ( supports all facets of distance education and includes Academic Technology, Distance Education, Instructional Media Services and the Online Course Improvement Program. The unit is supported in part by the Student Technology Advisory Committee and the Course Delivery Fee.

Services include training and guidance for NMSU faculty in the improvement of the quality of online teaching and learning. OCIP ( incorporates the Quality Matters standards, a service that provides research-based online course design expectations.

IIQ Director Susan Bussmann said faculty report their redesigned blended and online courses are making a positive difference for students. Keeping current with the constantly evolving technology and research-based strategies underscores the importance of continuous improvement in online education.

Patricia MacGregor-Mendoza was honored with the Leading the Way award for 2015 for her advocacy, collaboration and online service. MacGregor-Mendoza is a professor of Spanish and linguistics.

The following faculty and staff also were recognized:

One Year Plus Fellows
Amneh Al-Rawashdeh, Lynette Bagwell, Michael DeAntonio, Conni DeBlieck, Bobbie Green, Cheryl Lombardi, Stephanie Lynch, Sara Melendrez, Tracey Miller-Tomlinson, Shelly Noe, Robert Paz, Katya Reka, Linda Summers

New2Online Participants
Najah Al-shanableh, Felicita Arzu Carmichael, Mark Clark, Erika Gergerich, James Herndon, Laura Madson, Nancy Oretskin, Lida Uribe-Florez, Yuliana Zaikman, Kristynia Robinson

Quality Matters Peer Reviewers
Chuck Boehmer, Susan Bussmann, Conni DeBlieck, Kefaya Diab, Marija Dimitrijevic, Tami Ford, Michelle Lebsock, Cheryl Lombardi, Justin MacDonald, Julia Parra, Robert Paz, Henrietta Pichon, Katya Reka, Susan Wilson

Quality Matters Master Reviewers
Stephen Anderson, Kerry Forsythe, Miley Grandjean, Sandy Johnson, Sharon Lalla, Elise Sautter, Betsy Stringam, Kourtney Vaillancourt

Quality Matters Nationally Recognized Courses
Patricia MacGregor-Mendoza – SPAN 540, LING 302/502
Chuck Boehmer – EE 461
Susie Bussmann – EDLT 592
Maria Dimitrijevic – CJ 454
Jennifer Kreie – BCIS 485/560
Justin MacDonald – PSY 340
Julia Parra – EDLT 581
Henrietta Pichon – EMD 540
Robert Paz – EE 551

Instructional Media Services Student Appreciation
Christina Griego, Sage Jurado, Kathleen Silva, Francisco Vidal

Author:   Darrell J. Pehr – NMSU

About Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts nothing more.

Check Also

Rep. Veronica Escobar Shares Resources, Information for Furloughed Federal Employees

Via a tweet late Tuesday afternoon, Congresswoman Veronica Escobar shared a page with resources for …

One comment

Bordertown Undergroun Show 728
RHINOS 2018-2019 728