NMSU Honors Departments, Faculty at 2018 Spring Convocation

New Mexico State University faculty and staff were welcomed back to campus during the spring 2018 convocation ceremony at NMSU’s Atkins Recital Hall. Every fall and spring, convocation is held to honor excellence on campus.

“This has been a good year for NMSU on a number of fronts – the size of our first-year class experienced the largest increase since 2000; our four-, five-, and six-year graduation rates are increasing; and we successfully implemented a first-year residency requirement,” said Provost Dan Howard. “The foundation for all this good news is our faculty and staff, and spring convocation provides a wonderful opportunity to celebrate their fine work and accomplishments.”

Three faculty members received Regents Professorships during the convocation.

The recipients are Eve Adams, College of Education Counseling and Educational Psychology Department; Kathryn Hanley, College of Arts and Sciences Biology Department; and Bernd Leinauer, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences Extension Plant Sciences Department.

The Regents Professorship, established in 2001 by the NMSU Board of Regents, recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the university’s mission and honors contributions in areas of education and research.

A panel of Regents Professors evaluates faculty-submitted nominations from throughout the university, and the committee meets to determine the awards. The recognition is accompanied by a $12,500 annual stipend.

Two departments and 11 faculty members also were recognized during the program Tuesday.

Eleven faculty members received the Donald C. Roush Award in recognition of their teaching excellence. The award is named for former NMSU Executive Vice President Roush in recognition of his 34 years of teaching improvement in New Mexico.

This year’’s recipients are Brian Schutte, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences; Dante De Blassie, College of Arts and Sciences; Gabriela E. Moreno, College of Arts and Sciences; Paula Jean Groves, College of Business; Judith Flores Carmona, College of Education; Krishna Kota, College of Engineering; Cheryl M. Lombardi, College of Health and Social Services; Jennifer Smith, NMSU Alamogordo; Jalal Hamedi, NMSU Carlsbad; Elizabeth Gamboa, NMSU Dona Ana; and Gail Burke, NMSU Grants.

The Department of Anthropology and Housing and Residential Life department received the Outcomes Assessment Committee for Co-Curriculum, Administration and Operations Excellence in Assessment Award.

This annual award recognizes outstanding assessment processes among co-curricular, administrative and operations units at NMSU.

In addition, Chancellor Garrey Carruthers presented the 2018 Presidential Medallion to Lou and Mary Henson.

Established in 2015, the Presidential Medallion recognizes retired faculty, staff, state officials or community members who have persistently, selflessly and superiorly served NMSU over a long period of time.

This year’s celebration was held on Tuesday, January 16.

Author:  Jane Moorman – NMSU