New Mexico State University President John Floros, shown here at the release party for D.H. Lescomes Winery’s Crimson Legacy wine, sales of which benefit NMSU Athletics teams, has been elected chair of the Western Athletic Conference 2021-22 Executive Committee. | NMSU photo by Josh Bachman

NMSU President John Floros tapped to chair Western Athletic Conference Board

At its annual June meeting, the Western Athletic Conference Board of Directors elected New Mexico State University President John Floros to the chair of its 2021-22 Executive Committee.

“NMSU’s participation in the Western Athletic Conference creates tremendous opportunities for our student-athletes to compete at a high level while they pursue their academic goals,” Floros said. “I’m looking forward to shaping some key decisions during the coming year that will position the WAC for continued growth and success.”

Utah Valley University President Astrid S. Tuminez was elected vice chair of the board, and the third member of the Executive Committee is Tarleton State University President James Hurley, who will take the spot of retiring Seattle University President Stephen Sundborg as Past Chair.

NMSU joined the WAC in 2005. The NMSU football team competes as an independent member of the Football Bowl Subdivision.

The current board welcomed its four newest WAC members, Abilene Christian University, Lamar University, Sam Houston State University and Stephen F. Austin State University, as well as Southern Utah University, who will join on July 1, 2022.

The board approved scheduling formats for the 2021-22 seasons and a championship site rotation. For more information about WAC Executive Committee activities, click here.

Author: Amanda Bradford – NMSU


For updates on all news from around Las Cruces and Southern New Mexico, please visit our news partners at Las Cruces Today