FLFCU Sun Bowl Thanksgiving Day Parade, El paso TX, November 22, 2018, Andres Acosta El Paso Herald-Post

Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso to be title sponsor of yearly Sun Bowl Parade

The Sun Bowl Association (SBA), along with Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso, announced that one of El Paso’s most loved holiday traditions will be renamed the Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso Sun Bowl Parade, which will once again run on Thanksgiving morning along Montana Ave. 

This year marks the 83rd edition of the longstanding parade.

“As the title sponsor of the Hyundai Sun Bowl football game for the last nine years it was always a thrill to be part of this special event that I couldn’t even afford a ticket to as a boy,” said owner of Hyundai of El Paso, Oscar Leeser.  “So, it gives me great pleasure to end the longest running sponsorship of the Sun Bowl [football game], to now become the title sponsor of the Sun Bowl Thanksgiving Day Parade.”

The contract with Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso is a two-year deal with the option of automatic renewal after the two years are up. The previous parade sponsor partnered with the SBA for 14 years.

“We cannot thank Mr. Oscar Leeser enough for his longstanding loyalty to the Sun Bowl Association and to the community,” said Bernie Olivas, Executive Director of the SBA. “[Oscar] Leeser has been a great partner for us over the past nine years and we are excited to continue our relationship and to see this parade continue to be one to the best community events in the southwest region.”

Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso will now supply the monetary funds necessary to put together amazing floats and the needed resources that assist in making this 80-plus-year event such a great success.  Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso will also work with the SBA to secure a Grand Marshal of the parade each year.

Past Grand Marshals include, WWII Veterans (2017), former W.B.A. light middleweight Boxing Champion Austin “No Doubt” Trout (2013), legendary UTEP men’s basketball player Nolan Richardson (2014), former UTEP men’s basketball coach Don Haskins, former PGA player Lee Trevino and the 1966 NCAA Champion-UTEP men’s basketball team (2015).

The Sun Bowl parade started its humble beginnings on New Year’s Day in 1936 and has stood the test of time as an annual tradition here in El Paso.

The Sun Bowl Association made the switch to a Thanksgiving Day celebration in 1978 and has been the tradition since.

“I am proud and honored to be the first to sponsor two of El Paso’s greatest events.  I would like to thank the Sun Bowl Association for the great partnership, I am so happy to be able to continue to give back to our great city,” said Leeser.

For complete information on the newly named Oscar Leeser’s Hyundai of El Paso Sun Bowl Parade go to the SBA website or click on the link.