Psychiatry Residency Program Wins Victor Teichner Award

The Psychiatry Residency program at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso (TTUHSC El Paso) has received the prestigious Victor J. Teichner Award.

The national award recognizes one residency program each year for its novel approaches to teaching psychotherapy and emphasis on patient respect.

“In our case, the award recognizes our efforts in transcultural psychotherapy and the integration of psychiatry into other medical specialties, such as sleep disorders and substance abuse medicine,” says Henry Weisman, M.D., director of TTUHSC El Paso’s Psychiatry Residency program.

The award will fund a visiting scholar, or psychoanalyst, to come and conduct seminars for TTUHSC El Paso residents, fellows and faculty. The university’s residency program will also have the opportunity to present a workshop at the upcoming meeting of the American Association of Directors of Psychiatry Residency Training (AADPRT).

Past recipients of the Teichner Award include psychiatry residency programs at Vanderbilt University, the University of California, Los Angeles and the University of New Mexico.

The award honors the late Psychiatrist Victor Teichner for his creative teaching abilities and extraordinary dedication to patients. It is jointly sponsored by the American Academy of Psychoanalysis and Dynamic Psychiatry (AAPDP) and AADPRT.