• May 25, 2022
 Rio Grande COG Board Appoints New Chair, First and Second Vice Presidents

Rio Grande COG Board Appoints New Chair, First and Second Vice Presidents

Brewster County Judge Eleazar Cano has been appointed as the new chair of the Board of Directors for the Rio Grande Council of Governments (RGCOG).

Judge Cano replaces former El Paso County Commissioner Andrew Haggerty who was defeated by newly elected Commissioner Carl Robinson in the November elections. Cano most recently served as First Vice President of the RGCOG Board is also newly appointed chair of the First Responders Committee.

Judge Cano is a native of Alpine and recently began his second term as Brewster County Judge. Prior to running for office, Cano was a counselor at Sul Ross State University and also maintained a private practice. He also previously served as a member of the Alpine ISD Board of Trustees, as well as a member of other local non-profit boards and organizations.

After being sworn in as chair, Cano shared a few words with those in attendance at the RGCOG’s monthly board meeting. “I want to be an active chair and my office has an open door policy, so if there’s anything I can do for you, please don’t hesitate,” said Cano.

El Paso District 2 City Councilwoman Alexsandra Annello, formerly Second Vice President, assumed her new role as First Vice President and Presidio County Judge Cinderela Guevara replaces Annello.

The terms for all three board officers run through October of this year.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post