window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-29484371-30');
Tuesday , November 13 2018
Home | Sports | Rio Grande Football League adds two more franchises for 2016 Spring Season

Rio Grande Football League adds two more franchises for 2016 Spring Season

Only a month removed from welcoming the West Texas Pride (Midland/Odessa) and the New Mexico Rush (Carlsbad) into the Rio Grande Football League (RGFL), league officials today announced the addition of two more football-obsessed cities into the league.

The West Texas Bulldogs will call the Amarillo-area their home, playing their games at Agnes Field in Borger, Tx.

The team, formerly known as the West Texas Longhorns, brings a wealth of talent and passion to the RGFL. The team features players from Borger, Dumas, Pampa, Canyon, Lubbock, Brownfield, and Floydada – all communities with rich football traditions.

Over in the Panhandle, the West Texas Outlaws join the RGFL, securing Lubbock as another football-crazy market. The Outlaws bring their nearly 15 years of franchise experience over to the league, as well as their top-notch players and rabid fans.

With the addition of the two franchises the RGFL continues its run as a AAA-level league, allowing the franchises to not only compete for the league championship, but regional and national championships as well.

The RGFL’s season runs from February to May, culminating with the championship game in early June, followed by an all-star game pitting the best players from New Mexico against the best in Texas.

About Chris Babcock

Editor in Chief: El Paso Herald-Post, Chris began his long journey in Journalism back in the early 70’s. Armed with a Bell and Howell 8mm camera and tape recorder. Chris would go on to document such events as the great plastic dinosaur attack on Tornillo, GI Joe’s dramatic rescue of Barbie from a backyard mud pit and a massive toy train derailment caused by Godzilla. FULL BIO

Check Also

Story in Many Pics: El Paso Youth Football Semi-Finals

The Borderland’s best were on display Saturday afternoon, as the El Paso youth football semi …