Rio Grande Football League announces first wave of expansion

After a 2015 season that saw exciting games from beginning to end, and a championship game the wasn’t decided until the final seconds, the Rio Grande Football League (RGFL) today announced expansion into two football crazy markets.

nmrushStarting in February, the Carlsbad-based New Mexico Rush and the West Texas Pride out of the Permian Basin, join the already strong stable of teams from Texas and New Mexico.

The addition of a team in Carlsbad lends itself to the natural rivals right down the road in Curry County, Alamogordo and Las Cruces.

The red and yellow clad Rush will call Ralph Boyer Caveman Stadium home. The Rush’s slogan is “The RUSH will be coming to a town near YOU!”

wtxprideMeanwhile in the heart of the Permian Basin, the brand-new West Texas Pride is set to take on traditional rivals in El Paso, while calling Grande Communications Stadium their home

The Pride will be decked out in green, white and silver; with a Lion, defiantly holding down a football – virtually daring others to come and take it.

The Pride’s slogan: “Show your Pride.”

Officials with the league say “This is the first announcement regarding expansion, as there will be another one in the not too distant future, unveiling the additional franchises set to become part of the RGFL family.”

League officials add that, “The RGFL is dedicated to bringing professional minor league football to families and fans across West Texas and Southern New Mexico, renewing old high school rivalries, while doing so at an affordable price for all.”

The RGFL’s season runs from February to May, culminating with the championship game in early June, followed by an all-star game pitting the best players from New Mexico against the best in Texas.

The Las Cruces Kings won the most recent championship in June, defeating the SunCity Reapers 23 to 22.

Other franchises in the league include Las Cruces Kings, Curry County Cats, Alamogordo DesertDawgs, SunCity Reapers, El Paso Armor and El Paso SunDevils.