• September 20, 2021
 Search Advisory Committee Named for Next UT El Paso President

Photo courtesy UTEP

Search Advisory Committee Named for Next UT El Paso President

A committee to advise The University of Texas System Board of Regents on the selection of a new president for UT El Paso was announced Wednesday by regents’ Chairman Sara Martinez Tucker.

The UT El Paso Presidential Search Advisory Committee will offer recommendations on possible successors to Diana Natalicio, Ph.D., who announced in May that she would retire after serving as UT El Paso’s president for 30 years.

The search advisory committee will be asked to present names of potential candidates to the board, which will make the final decision. Committee members were selected in accordance with Board of Regents’ Rules and Regulations, which include a provision for representation on such committees by various constituencies internal and external to the institution.

“The last time Regents appointed a president of UT El Paso was more than three decades ago, so we are especially grateful to the committee for assuming this critically important responsibility,” Tucker said. “My colleagues on the board and I are eager to appoint a president who will build upon President Natalicio’s immeasurable impact on UTEP and Texas, especially in the areas of student success and research contributions.”

Representation on the Presidential Search Advisory Committee includes:

  • Chair of Committee (Steven Leslie, Ph.D., executive vice chancellor for academic affairs)
  • Board of Regents (Vice Chairman Paul Foster, Regent Ernie Aliseda and Regent Rad Weaver)
  • Presidents of other UT institutions (Taylor Eighmy, Ph.D., president of UT San Antonio, and Sandra Woodley, Ph.D., president of UT Permian Basin)
  • UT El Paso dean, faculty, and staff (Charles Ambler, Ph.D., dean of the Graduate School; Edward Castañeda, Ph.D., professor of psychology; Mark Cox, MSPH, Ph.D., associate professor of biological sciences; Elena Izquierdo, Ph.D., associate professor of teacher education; and Nadia Munoz, director of military services)
  • UT El Paso student and alumnus (Cristian Botello, UTEP student and president of the student government association, and Bonnie Schulenburg, social media relations specialist at Ysleta ISD and president-elect of the UTEP alumni association)
  • External and community members (Woody Hunt, chairman of Hunt Building Co.; Sally Hurt-Deitch, market CEO of The Hospitals of Providence; Renard Johnson, president of METI, Inc.; Mike Loya, CEO and president of Vitol, Inc.; and Dee Margo, mayor of the City of El Paso)

The committee hopes to recommend top candidates to the Board of Regents by early 2019. The executive search firm of Russell Reynolds Associates, a leading global search and leadership advisory firm, has been retained by the UT System to support the work of the committee and to identify and recruit potential candidates.

The UT System will announce a website to provide information regarding the search, including a proposed timeline of search activities, and an opportunity for members of the public to privately submit candidate nominations.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post

El Paso Herald Post Download the new ElPasoHeraldPost.com app and get notifications for community news, deals and community calendar info.
Allow Notifications