• May 14, 2022
 Socorro ISD All-State musicians showcase talents at TMEA convention

Socorro ISD All-State musicians showcase talents at TMEA convention

Ten Socorro Independent School District band and choir students were named 2019 Texas Music Educators Association All-State musicians.

The SISD honorees will perform with band and choir ensembles at the state convention this weekend at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio as part of the 2019 TMEA Clinic/Convention.

Being an All-State musician is the highest honor a Texas music student can receive. This year, 1,792 students were selected for the prestigious title through a competitive process that began with more than 70,000 students from around the state.

“To rehearse and perform with the best of the best musicians will provide a lifelong experience that may lead to scholarship opportunities and professional careers in music,” said Ronald Pingor, assistant director of fine arts.

The highest-ranking musicians will get to perform in one of 15 Texas All-State bands, choirs, or orchestra ensembles. Students also will have the opportunity to work with nationally recognized conductors.

“I’m very proud of both of my students and their achievements,” said Joe Estala, choir director at Pebble Hills. “Being an All-State musician requires a higher amount of concentration than the average student in a regular classroom. It’s very inspiring to watch them practice and perform.”

Students hope the experience will open doors for their musical career after high school.

“I’m honored to be recognized as an All-State musician,” Talavera said. “This was one of the goals I wanted to accomplish before I graduated from high school. I can’t wait for the rehearsals! We are going to learn from so many amazing people. There is also going to be a college fair that weekend and I want to learn about the different music schools available. I hope one of them is in my future.”

SISD’s All-State musicians are Fernando Montes, Sebastian Ortega, and Kayla Rubio from Americas High School; Robert Harris from El Dorado High School; Abigail Talavera from Eastlake High School; Steven Phan from Montwood High School; and Juan Lara, Rosendo Vasquez, Raul Romero, and Diane Tiscareno from Pebble Hills High School.

Staff Report

Staff Reports are just that, Staff Reporting the news. No skew, no opinion just the news. We pride ourselves on making sure that we bring you the news as soon as it is published, submitted or sent to us. No need to have a reporter rewrite or give their opinion. The facts or information, nothing more.

Related post