Socorro ISD Celebrates 2018 Teachers of the Year, Names Elite 8

Socorro ISD honored its 2018 Campus Teachers of the Year and announced the Elite 8 teachers at a reception at the District Service Center. Superintendent Dr. José Espinoza, Board Trustees and principals were part of the celebration to recognize the district’s outstanding teachers.

Campus Teachers of the Year were nominated by a democratic election process at each school. The nominees are exceptional teachers who inspire students, are respected by their peers and have the ability and willingness to make meaningful contributions to education.

“On behalf of every student at SISD, I want to thank you for your incredible work,” Dr. Espinoza said to the teachers at the reception. “Every single one of you is an elite winner. You are super stars. You are one of the reasons SISD is so successful. We couldn’t achieve anything without you.”

A committee representing a cross-section of the SISD community selected the Elite 8 teachers from the 46 Campus Teachers of the Year. Four elementary teachers and four secondary teachers were chosen.

Montwood Middle School coach Fabian Martinez was shocked when his name was called. He has been teaching for 19 years. He said he is humbled that his fellow teachers would consider him a teacher of the year and that he would be chosen as one of the Elite 8.

“I want to share this with every student I have ever had,” Martinez said. “I enjoy what I do. My belief is if you first commit to your students, they will commit to you.”

Hector Perez said he loves his job and he is honored to be chosen as an Elite 8 teacher.

“This is mind blowing,” Perez said. “I am so thankful.”

The Elite 8 teachers will go on to another round of the Teacher of the Year process, where a selection committee will select the 2018 SISD Elementary Teacher of the Year and the 2018 SISD Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The top two teachers will be named at the 2018 SISD Teacher of the Year Gala, which will be celebrated May 5 in the Judson F. Williams Hall at the El Paso Convention Center.

Tickets are on sale now and available through April 5. Tickets can be ordered through each campus secretary. Cost is $30.