STTE Foundation celebrates local education leaders

On Thursday, the Success Through Technology Education (STTE) Foundation hosted the 2019 Education Awards honoring eight leaders in education who are preparing students to be successful in the modern economy.

“There are so many teachers in our region doing amazing work that too often goes unrecognized. There is a strong spirit of innovation, entrepreneurship, and creativity in the way that educators are working to prepare our students for their futures,” said Joseph Sapien, executive director of the STTE Foundation. “The 2019 Education Award recipients represent the best of this spirit and we are honored to celebrate them and their work.”

The educators recognized during today’s ceremony have excelled at supporting young students to pursue careers in the Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts & Mathematics (STEAM) fields, providing innovative approaches to curriculum, after school programming, and access to various means of professional development to students in the El Paso region.

Created by the STTE Foundation, this year’s Education Awards is the second annual event for the Awards, providing a unique opportunity to bring together community stakeholders, educators, and other local leaders to support and highlight efforts to ensure that El Paso remains competitive as technological, math, and engineering-focused careers continue to become an increasingly significant sector of the local and national economy.

The event’s lead sponsor is the Council on Regional Economic Expansion and Educational Development (CREEED) – a not-for-profit organization focused on increasing the number of high-performing seats in El Paso’s public education system and thereby assuring a college-ready, competitive and skilled workforce.

“At CREEED, we recognize the vital role that STEAM education plays in providing students with the skills and tools that they need to be successful in the future,” said Richard A. Castro, Chairman of CREEED.

“We are honored to work with the STTE Foundation to celebrate some of our region’s most inspiring educators who are working to ensure that our students graduate prepared to succeed in college and beyond.”

The eight awardees honored at this year’s event are:
●      CREEED Education Leadership Award – Margie Nelson Rodriguez, El Paso Community College

●      El Paso Electric Regional Innovator Award – Lauren Curry, New Mexico State University

●      Glassell Family Foundation Inspirational Pathway Award – Hector Lugo Nevarez, University of Texas at El Paso

●      Prudential Math Architect Award – Sergio Estrada, Riverside High School, YISD

●      Microsoft Technology Cultivator Award – James Ryan, Frank Macias Elementary,  Clint ISD

●      Entrepreneurship Producer Award – Michael Nelson, Fab Labs El Paso

●      Outstanding School Achievement Award – Manuela Gomez, Professor, El Paso Community College, Philosophy Club

●      STEAM Creator Award – Alejandra Galindo, Clint ISD