Courtesy: Sun Metro

Sun Metro Hosting 2019 State, Regional Transit Association Annual Conference

El Paso is the host city for the 2019 South West Transit Association (SWTA) and the Texas Transit Association (TTA) joint annual conferences taking place March 1-6 at the Sun Metro Transit Operations Center and the El Paso Convention Center.

The SWTA & TTA Annual Conference is the premier marketplace for the transit industry to come together for networking, education, and advocacy to strengthen transit members and their ability to provide public transportation services and products within their respective communities. A comprehensive conference with eight states under one roof.

“We are proud to bring the 2019 joint conferences to El Paso,” says Sun Metro Director Jay Banasiak. “This is an opportunity for El Paso to showcase our city to professionals in the transit industry, and provide unparalleled opportunities to learn about the latest transit technologies, challenges, and visionary solutions for the future.”

The TTA Conference members will have the opportunity to participate in the Texas state Roadeo.

Each individual’s expertise will be tested against participants from other cities like San Antonio, Austin and Dallas. Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony and dinner, in which El Paso Transit Operators have been selected in the competition.

The 2019 SWTA & TTA Conference is estimated to attract 700 attendees including professionals from their  respective cities in professions such as transit operators, transit directors, transit superintendents, transportation directors, development directors, general managers, planners, sales executives, vice presidents, presidents and CEOs.

The conference will utilize more than 900 hotel room nights and generate an estimated economic impact of $560,000 – $600,000.

The SWTA Annual Conference is a regional transit association serving eight states – Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, New Mexico and Texas.