window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-29484371-30');
Monday , September 16 2019
STEP 728
Utep Football Generic 728
Mountains 728
Rhinos 2019/2020 728
EP ELEC 2019 728×729
Amy’s Ambassadorship
Bordertown Undergroun Show 728
Home | Tag Archives: dr. diana natalicio

Tag Archives: dr. diana natalicio

Natalicio Named Conservation Award Recipient by El Paso/Trans-Pecos Audubon Society

UTEP President Diana Natalicio is being recognized for successfully guiding the development of a wetlands park – an invaluable contribution to environmental conservation in the Paso del Norte region – by the El Paso/Trans-Pecos Audubon Society.

President Natalicio is a recipient of the organization’s Conservation Award, which honors her unflagging support of Rio Bosque Wetlands Park, a 372-acre City of El Paso park managed by UTEP’s Center for Environmental Resource Management (CERM).

The award recognizes UTEP’s efforts — under President Natalicio’s leadership — to conserve and sustain Rio Bosque, which is an example of the wetlands and riverside forests that once graced the banks of the Rio Grande.

“I am honored and grateful to the El Paso/Trans-Pecos Audubon Society for recognizing my and UTEP’s commitment to the Rio Bosque Wetlands Park,” President Natalicio said.

“I became excited about the huge potential of this site from the moment John Sproul shared with me his vision for what it could become. As work began on its conversion, I continued to be very impressed not only with John’s deep and abiding commitment to the Bosque, but even more with his tenacity and tireless efforts to guide its transformation. Against all odds and despite some deeply disappointing setbacks, he simply never gave up. Thanks to his efforts, the Rio Bosque Wetlands Park has taken its well-earned place as one of the region’s most unique and valuable ecosystems. I extend thanks as well to so many colleagues and friends at UTEP and in the community who shared the Bosque vision and worked with John to make the dream of this precious regional resource come true.”

El Paso/Trans-Pecos Audubon Society leaders said President Natalicio was selected for the award based on the unwavering support the University has offered to Rio Bosque’s enhancement for more than two decades.

When the city needed support for the park’s development, President Natalicio embraced the challenge. In November 1996, the El Paso City Council approved a long-term agreement with UTEP to begin work to establish the park.

Subsequently, President Natalicio was instrumental in securing multiple grants to support the Rio Bosque project in 2001 and 2002.

Her leadership was key in advancing successful outcomes with community partners as well. Fostering these relationships helped initiate the installation of a turnout to the park from the Riverside Canal in 2013 and the first deliveries of irrigation water to the site in 2017.

“In addition to an educational and recreational asset to the community, the park has been a valuable asset to our teaching programs, specialized training opportunities for students, and student research,” said William Hargrove, Ph.D., CERM director.

The award was presented during the El Paso/Trans-Pecos Audubon Society’s annual banquet Saturday, February 16, 2019, at the Hyatt Place in Central El Paso.

Search Advisory Committee Named for Next UT El Paso President

A committee to advise The University of Texas System Board of Regents on the selection of a new president for UT El Paso was announced Wednesday by regents’ Chairman Sara Martinez Tucker.

The UT El Paso Presidential Search Advisory Committee will offer recommendations on possible successors to Diana Natalicio, Ph.D., who announced in May that she would retire after serving as UT El Paso’s president for 30 years.

The search advisory committee will be asked to present names of potential candidates to the board, which will make the final decision. Committee members were selected in accordance with Board of Regents’ Rules and Regulations, which include a provision for representation on such committees by various constituencies internal and external to the institution.

“The last time Regents appointed a president of UT El Paso was more than three decades ago, so we are especially grateful to the committee for assuming this critically important responsibility,” Tucker said. “My colleagues on the board and I are eager to appoint a president who will build upon President Natalicio’s immeasurable impact on UTEP and Texas, especially in the areas of student success and research contributions.”

Representation on the Presidential Search Advisory Committee includes:

  • Chair of Committee (Steven Leslie, Ph.D., executive vice chancellor for academic affairs)
  • Board of Regents (Vice Chairman Paul Foster, Regent Ernie Aliseda and Regent Rad Weaver)
  • Presidents of other UT institutions (Taylor Eighmy, Ph.D., president of UT San Antonio, and Sandra Woodley, Ph.D., president of UT Permian Basin)
  • UT El Paso dean, faculty, and staff (Charles Ambler, Ph.D., dean of the Graduate School; Edward Castañeda, Ph.D., professor of psychology; Mark Cox, MSPH, Ph.D., associate professor of biological sciences; Elena Izquierdo, Ph.D., associate professor of teacher education; and Nadia Munoz, director of military services)
  • UT El Paso student and alumnus (Cristian Botello, UTEP student and president of the student government association, and Bonnie Schulenburg, social media relations specialist at Ysleta ISD and president-elect of the UTEP alumni association)
  • External and community members (Woody Hunt, chairman of Hunt Building Co.; Sally Hurt-Deitch, market CEO of The Hospitals of Providence; Renard Johnson, president of METI, Inc.; Mike Loya, CEO and president of Vitol, Inc.; and Dee Margo, mayor of the City of El Paso)

The committee hopes to recommend top candidates to the Board of Regents by early 2019. The executive search firm of Russell Reynolds Associates, a leading global search and leadership advisory firm, has been retained by the UT System to support the work of the committee and to identify and recruit potential candidates.

The UT System will announce a website to provide information regarding the search, including a proposed timeline of search activities, and an opportunity for members of the public to privately submit candidate nominations.

UTEP’s New Agreement Strengthens International Collaboration

The University of Texas at El Paso has signed an agreement with the Fundacion del Empresariado Chihuahuense, A.C., or FECHAC, on educational activities.

UTEP President Diana Natalicio and Fernando Ávila Ortega, the President of the Board of Directors of the Juarez Chapter, signed the agreement Thursday afternoon in the President’s Conference Room.

FECHAC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, independent and autonomous grant-making foundation used by more than 34,000 corporations in the State of Chihuahua, Mexico to support their communities.

The organization is also a member of Education USA, a partnership between the U.S. Department of State through the U.S. Consulate in Juárez, which supports students from Mexico in their postsecondary education in the U.S.

Through the agreement, both institutions will promote interest in educational programs to deepen the understanding of the economic, cultural and social issues environment of the region.

While this is the initial agreement with FECHAC, UTEP has other agreements in place with entities and universities in Mexico.

EP ELEC 2019 728×729
Utep Football Generic 728
Mountains 728
Rhinos 2019/2020 728
Bordertown Undergroun Show 728
STEP 728
Amy’s Ambassadorship