• September 30, 2020

Tags : Ysleta ISD

Hanks High senior honored with March Ysleta ISD President’s Award

The Ysleta ISD Board of Trustees honored Hanks High School senior Kristen Apodaca with the President’s Award for March. “Kristen is a kind-hearted student leader whose commitment to service extends far beyond her campus to the youngest and most vulnerable children in our community,” YISD officials shared Monday. “But what makes Kristen exceptional is that […]Read More

Staff, Students at YISD’s Tierra Del Sol ES celebrate 100

Each year, students across the region celebrate the 100th day of the school year with creative and imaginative events. Students at Tierra Del Sol Elementary School celebrated “100 Days of School” with an event to learn about the importance of this large, three-digit number. Preparation for the special day began prior to the designated day […]Read More

Alicia R. Chacon Int’l School students win at regional Destination

The Elementary Destination Imagination (DI) team from Alicia R. Chacon International School won 1st place at the regional DI competition recently held at Eastlake High School. Destination Imagination is a global creative problem-solving organization that prepares kindergarten to high school students for college, career and life through 21st century thinking and learning principles. More than […]Read More

Ysleta ISD Announces Top 10 Teachers of the Year

The 2019-2020 campus Teachers of the Year at the Ysleta Independent School District (YISD) were honored during a reception at Central Office Wednesday evening. During the ceremony, YISD officials also announced 10 finalists for the district’s top two teaching awards: the Elementary Teacher of the Year and the Secondary Teacher of the Year. All campus […]Read More

Ysleta ISD Associate Superintendent named to El Paso Women’s Hall

Dr. Catherine Kennedy, Ed.D, associate superintendent of middle schools at the Ysleta Independent School District, will be honored for her wide-ranging contributions to education this month when she is inducted into the 2019 El Paso Women’s Hall of Fame. With a career spanning 29 years as a teacher and administrator, Kennedy oversees nine middle schools, […]Read More

Ysleta ISD names the 2019-20 campus teachers and support employees

This week, officials with Ysleta ISD announced the 2019 – 2020 Campus Teachers and Support Employees of the Year. “These dedicated teachers and support staff were selected by their campuses to represent the hard work and a determination to help all children succeed,” YISD officials shared. “They are honored for outstanding leadership, excellence, and inspiration […]Read More

Young Women’s Leadership Academy develop future scientists during STEAM E-Day

Students at Young Women’s Leadership Academy enjoyed an eventful day, full of learning, teamwork, and cooperation during a STEAM E-Day. The 6th – 9th grade students participated in campus-wide enrichment activities as they rotated among a variety of projects that included robotics, science experiments, and hands-on activities. This enabled them to engage in activities, extending […]Read More

UTEP research students demonstrate projects to Eastwood MS students

A group of Eastwood Middle School students visited the Bioscience Research Building at the University of Texas at El Paso to get an up-close look at studies conducted by the facility. After UTEP’s Biological Science chair Dr. Bruce Cushing spoke to the students about the types of research they conduct, the students toured different labs […]Read More

YISD’s De La Torre testifies in Austin on need for

Ysleta ISD Superintendent of Schools Dr. Xavier De La Torre, in his role as chair-elect of the Texas Urban Council of Superintendents (TUC), testified before a state education committee in Austin to share the importance and benefit of increasing state funding toward the areas of early childhood education and English language learners. Dr. De La […]Read More