TTU System Chancellor to Give TTUHSC El Paso Associate Professor Distinguished Teaching Award

Texas Tech University System Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell and TTUHSC El Paso president Richard Lange, M.D., will present the annual Chancellor’s Council Distinguished Teaching Award to Charmaine Martin, M.D., an associate professor in the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine.

“Receiving this award is a tremendous honor, and I share it with many great people I have worked with over the years: patients, mentors, colleagues, partners in the community and, of course, my family and friends,” Dr. Martin said.

Dr. Martin teaches medical students at the Texas Tech Physicians of El Paso Family Medicine Clinic in Northeast El Paso. She also participates in free community health care events around the city throughout the year.

“When I first came to El Paso and began working with students, I quickly realized that teaching is rewarding on many levels,” Dr. Martin said. “The students consistently help keep me motivated and patients encouraged about the future of health care in El Paso and Texas.”

The awards are made possible through philanthropic gifts to the Chancellor’s Council. Award recipients each receive a $5,000 stipend and an engraved medallion.

Dr. Martin is an associate professor and assistant dean of student affairs at TTUHSC El Paso’s Paul L. Foster School of Medicine. She has taught at TTUHSC El Paso since 2005.

Dr. Martin created a program called Scholars in Primary Care, which encourages student interest in primary care by providing opportunities for leadership, patient advocacy and clinical experience. Program participants work with Dr. Martin at a free clinic for migrant farm workers, allowing students to gain hands-on clinical training while serving the community.

The clinic received 120 office visits from migrants last year.

The Chancellor’s Council is a giving society that supports Chancellor Dr. Tedd L. Mitchell and his priorities of impacting student lives through scholarships, recognizing faculty achievement and encouraging excellence across the TTU System and its four component institutions: Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University and Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso.

More on Dr. Martin

Medical School: University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston – 1996

Residency: St. Claire’s Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program – 2000

Fellowships: Teaching and Learning Fellowship, USC Keck School of Medicine – 2005; Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Pre-Doctoral Fellowship – 2008

American Board of Medical Specialties: Certified American Board of Family Medicine

Research Interests: Medical education