Gordon Woods, M.D. & Karinn Chambers, M.D.

TTUHSC El Paso Faculty honored with Suskind Medical Education Awards

Two Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso faculty were named recipients of the inaugural Dr. Robert Suskind and Leslie Lewinter-Suskind Medical Faculty Awards for Educational Excellence.

Gordon Woods, M.D., an associate professor of internal medicine, College Master, and Jonathan and Patricia Rogers Endowed Chair of Medical Education at the Paul L. Foster School of Medicine received the Pre-Medical Education Award.

Karinn Chambers, M.D., FACS, an assistant professor of surgery and medical director of Texas Tech Physicians of El Paso’s Breast Care Center, received the Clinical Education Award. Each received a $500 cash award.

The Suskind awards are part of a $30,000 gift to TTUHSC El Paso to create an endowment in support of exceptional faculty teaching clinical and pre-clinical curriculum. Medical students were able to vote for the award recipients.

Robert Suskind, M.D., was founding dean of the TTUHSC El Paso medical school and was instrumental in implementing an innovative curriculum in which students gain clinical experience in their first two years of school. In a traditional four-year medical school curriculum, students typically begin clinical work in their third year.

Suskind’s wife, Leslie Lewinter-Suskind, is a former director of the international program for the departments of psychiatry and pediatrics at the Louisiana State University School of Medicine.

The awards were announced on March 20th.