Dana Boyd (lf) and Norma Myers (rt)

Two Ysleta ISD principals recognized by statewide organization

Ysleta ISD principals Dana Boyd and Norma Myers were selected and honored by Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA) for their work on Thursday.

First off, Dana Boyd, Principal of Parkland Elementary in Ysleta ISD, has been elected to serve as the 2021-2022 Member At-Large for the Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA).

Boyd will begin her two-year term this summer.

“We look forward to Dana’s participation on TEPSA’s Executive Committee. Her leadership and expertise will help guide the association’s work and advocacy efforts on behalf of Texas PK-8 students and educators,” Executive Director Harley Eckhart said.

An educator for more than 20 years, Boyd has been recognized nationally for her leadership. She was the 2016 NAESP National Distinguished Principal for Texas and 2020 H-E-B Excellence in Education Elementary Principal.

Boyd currently serves on the National Assessment Governing Board which helps set policy for The Nation’s Report Card (National Assessment of Educational Progress). She is a longtime TEPSA member and has served on the TEPSA Region 19 Board, as well as the Advocacy Committee and Strategic Planning Committee.

“I am extremely honored and excited to have the opportunity to serve on the TEPSA state board as Member At-Large. I am more than appreciative of the important opportunity that is ahead. I will do my best in representing TEPSA members from across all regions of Texas,” Boyd said.

Meanwhile Norma Myers, principal of Capistrano Elementary, was honored as TEPSANs of the Year – along with nineteen other school leaders from around the state.

Members from the 20 TEPSA Regions across the state annually honor a colleague for their outstanding service to the association.

“We’re in awe of these leaders! They’re working harder than ever to serve their students and staff, yet they continue to support and advocate for educators in their region. We’re honored to recognize their tremendous work and servant leadership,” said TEPSA Executive Director Harley Eckhart.

Award recipients must be committed to advancing the principalship and the association, as well as serving as a voice for Texas

Honorees will be recognized this summer.

TEPSA, whose hallmark is educational leaders learning with and from each other, has served Texas PK-8 school leaders since 1917. Member owned and member governed, TEPSA has more than 5,900 members who direct the activities of more than 3 million PK-8 school children.

Learn more at their website.