• May 15, 2022
 UTEP Announces 2018 Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Class

UTEP Announces 2018 Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Class

On Wednesday, Officials with UTEP announced the 2018 Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Class.

Joining the scores of enshrined Miners will be David Bishop (golf), Camilla Carrera (softball), Jareica Hughes (women’s basketball), Willie Worsley (men’s basketball) and Barron Wortham (football). 

All were voted in by UTEP’s Athletics Hall of Fame selection committee.

Members of UTEP’s 16th Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Class will be honored in a ceremony at the Larry K. Durham Sports Center on Friday, September 21, as well as at UTEP’s football game versus NM State on Saturday, Sept. 22.

David Bishop

Bishop, who played for the Miners from 1987-91, was a four-time All-American at UTEP (honorable mention 1988 and 1990, second team 1989 and 1991).  He was named the WAC Player of the Year in 1989 and 1991. 

He won four tournaments as a Miner.  He helped UTEP finish second at the NCAA Championships in 1988, and ninth in 1991.  He compiled scoring averages of 73.9 as a freshman, 73.0 as a sophomore, 73.5 as a junior and 72.6 as a senior. 

Bishop later played on the PGA Tour.  He passed away at the age of 48 on April 15, 2017.


Camilla Carrera

A member of the UTEP softball team from 2008-12, Carrera led the nation with 32 home runs as a senior.

 She was a two-time Conference USA Player of the Year (2009 and 2012) and three-time first team All-League (2009, 2010, 2012).

Carrera is the program’s all-time leader in batting average (.401), hits (260), runs (186), doubles (57), home runs (61), RBI (197) and total bases (504).  She led the Miners to the C-USA Championship game in 2009, and a school-record 31 victories in 2010.  


Jareica Hughes

Hughes, who played for the Miners from 2006-09, was the catalyst on the first NCAA Tournament team in UTEP women’s basketball history (2008). 

A two-time C-USA Player of the Year, Hughes owns school records for assists (599), steals (277) and minutes (3,777) while ranking second in scoring (1,555 points) and free throws made (359), and third in field goals made (527). 

She led the Miners to 84 wins in four years, including the 2008 C-USA regular season title.  Hughes is a member of UTEP’s Centennial Women’s Basketball Team.

Willie Worsley

The final starter from the 1966 Texas Western national championship team to be inducted into the UTEP Athletics Hall of Fame, Willie Worsley averaged 8.0 points as a sophomore that season.  He lettered for TWC from 1965-68. 

Worsley scored 14 and 12 points respectively in the Miners’ NCAA Tournament wins over Oklahoma City and Utah, and added eight points in the historic victory over Kentucky. 

Worsley appeared in 78 games for the Miners, scoring 877 points (11.2 ppg) with 252 rebounds (3.2 rpg).  He was a member of two NCAA Tournament teams.


Barron Wortham

Wortham, a UTEP football letterman from 1990-93, joined Raymond Morris as the only players to lead UTEP in tackles four times.  He posted 566 takedowns – the top total in school history.  He is also the Miners’ all-time leader in tackles for losses (45). 

He was named a first team All-American by the Football Writers Association of America his senior year.  He was a three-time All-American in his career.  Wortham was chosen by Houston in the NFL Draft.  He played seven seasons in the league and started for the Tennessee Titans in Super Bowl XXXIV. 

He is a member of UTEP’s Centennial Football Team.

UT El Paso

While the initial information was provided by either UTEP or UTEP Athletics, it has been reviewed and copy-checked by a Herald-Post editor. In some cases, the text has been reformatted for better readability.

Related post