UTEP Head Sean Coach Kugler (lf) & Jon Teicher, Voice of the Miners / Photo: Daniel Ornelas

UTEP Broadcaster Jon Teicher to Receive 2017 NFF Chris Schenkel Award

IRVING, Texas  – The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today University of Texas at El Paso play-by-play announcer Jon Teicher as the 2017 recipient of the NFF Chris Schenkel Award.

Presented annually since 1996, the award recognizes individuals who have had long, distinguished careers broadcasting college football with direct ties to a specific university. Teicher will be honored Dec. 5 during the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown.

“Jon Teicher has had an exceptional broadcasting career as the Voice of the Miners, spanning more than 36 years, and during that time, his voice has become synonymous with UTEP football and west Texas,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We are pleased to honor him with the 2017 NFF Chris Schenkel Award in recognition of his distinguished career.”

Teicher will begin his 37th season as the “Voice of the Miners” in 2017, starting his career from the UTEP booth in 1981. A native of Detroit, Mich., and a UCLA graduate, Teicher also serves as UTEP’s Assistant Athletics Director for Broadcasting.

Teicher first arrived in El Paso to call play-by-play for the Diablos minor league baseball team from 1980-84 and again from 1988-92. His career also includes stints broadcasting professional baseball in Portland, Ore., and in Wichita, Kan.; a season as the voice of New Mexico State; five years as the host of the popular local afternoon show “Sportstalk;” and three years as a sports anchor for KDBC-4, the CBS affiliate in El Paso.

During each respective season, Teicher also hosts the Sean Kugler (UTEP football coach) and Tim Floyd (UTEP basketball coach) radio shows. In the spring and summer months, he plays a role with sales and promotions for the athletics department with IMG College. Teicher was inducted into the El Paso Athletic Hall of Fame in the spring of 2001.

During his three-decade career calling games at the historic Sun Bowl, Teicher has covered some of UTEP’s greatest coaches and student-athletes. He called the university’s best season in 1988, which saw NFF National Scholar Athlete Pat Hegarty quarterback the Miners to a 10-3 record, a school-record for single-season wins. The 1988 team was coached by Bob Stull, now UTEP’s athletics director, and the season concluded with a trip to the Independence Bowl.

Teicher also called the 2000 season, which included a Western Athletic Conference title under coach Gary Nord and tight end Brian Natkin becoming the football program’s first-ever unanimous All-American.

Teicher has been on the broadcast team for six bowl games, and he represents the first NFF Chris Schenkel Award recipient from Conference USA.

At the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York, Teicher will be honored alongside the yet-to-be announced recipients of the other NFF Major Awards, including the NFF Gold Medal, NFF Distinguished American Award and the NFF John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration.

In addition to the presentation of the NFF Major Awards, the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner will provide the stage for the induction of the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2017 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments; and the bestowing of the 28th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments and displayed at its official home inside the New York Athletic Club, to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.

This year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Bob Crable (Notre Dame), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Kirk Gibson(Michigan State), Matt Leinart (Southern California), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Bob McKay (Texas), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern), Mike Ruth (Boston College), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico) and coaches Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas), Larry Kehres (Mount Union [Ohio]) and Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina).

The 2017 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class will be announced Nov. 1, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced live at the event on Dec. 5.

For ticket information regarding the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, please contact NFF Director of External Relations Will Rudd at 972.556.1000 or wrudd@footballfoundation.com.

NFF Chris Schenkel Award Recipients:

1996 — Chris Schenkel (ABC Sports)

1997 — Jack Cristil (Mississippi State)

1998 — Max Falkenstein (Kansas)

1999 — Jack Fleming (West Virginia)

2000 — Ray Christensen (Minnesota)

2001 — Frank Fallon (Baylor)

2002 — Bob Brooks (Iowa)

2003 — Larry Munson (Georgia)

2004 — Bob Robertson (Washington State)

2005 — Tony Roberts (Notre Dame)

2006 — Johnny Holiday (Maryland)

2007 — Bill Hillgrove (Pittsburgh)

2008 — Bob Curtis (Idaho) and Dick Galiette (Yale)

2009 — Larry Zimmer (Colorado)

2010 — Joe Starkey (California)

2011 — Woody Durham (North Carolina)

2012 — Bob Barry, Sr. (Oklahoma)

2013 — Gene Deckerhoff (Florida State)

2014 — Frank Beckmann (Michigan)

2015 — Jim Hawthorne (LSU)

2016 — Bob Rondeau (Washington)

2017 — Jon Teicher (UTEP)